Hawkeyes Win 13 Events At Iowa Invitational

April 19, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA — The Hawkeye men and women’s track and field teams battled chilly temperatures and wet conditions to win 13 events and set a new school distance record at the Iowa Invitational Saturday at Francis X. Cretzmeyer Track in Iowa City. Twenty-five Hawkeyes posted collegiate-best performances at the 10-team, co-ed meet.

Hawkeye senior Diane Nukuri smashed her second school record of the 2008 outdoor season, winning the 3,000 meters in 9:18.82. Former Hawkeye Penny O’Brien set the previous record of 9:20.61 in 1985. Nukuri also broke the school 10,000-meter mark earlier this month.

Iowa senior Shane Maier and junior John Hickey were Iowa’s regional qualifiers on the day. Maier won the discus with a throw of 171-1, while Hickey won the shot put with a toss of 58-0 ¼. There were a total of 15 regional qualifying marks posted on the day.

Also winning individual titles for the Hawkeye men were seniors Lee Elbert (100 meters – 10.91) and Aaron Reed (long jump – 22-2 1/4), junior Andy Napier (1,500 meters – 3:57.14), sophomore Adam Hairston (800 meters – 1:51.84) and redshirt freshman Josh Bean (triple jump – 48-0 1/2). Sophomore Rhonda-Kaye Trusty won the women’s 100 meters (12.12), and graduate student Sarah Henize won the 1,500 meters (4:30.06).

Iowa swept the relay races, with the men winning the 400 and 1,600-meter relays, and the women winning the 1,600-meter relay. The men’s 400-meter relay won the race in 41.67 with senior Max Milder, freshman Brandon McSkimming, Reed and Elbert competing. Hawkeye junior Cannon Dolan, Hairston, sophomore Zach Splan and freshman Dan Kuhlman ran a 3:17.73 in the men’s 1,600-meter relay. For the women’s team, freshman Bethany Praska, senior Tammilee Kerr, Trusty and senior Monica Mims won the race in 3:52.19. The women’s 400-meter relay was not run due to lack of teams competing.

Two members of the Hawkeye coaching staff also won events while competing unattached. Men’s assistant coach Joey Woody won the 400-meter hurdles in 51.54. Women’s volunteer assistant Becca Franklin won the hammer throw with a mark of 176-4. The former Hawkeye, who completed her eligibility last season, still holds the school record of 195-0 in the event.

“We had some solid performances, certainly highlighted by Diane’s school-record run,” said Head Women’s Coach Layne Anderson. “All things considered with the weather conditions, I thought it was a good solid team effort. Obviously we need to build off of this performance for the rest of the season.”

“We had a couple big highlights,” said Head Men’s Coach Larry Wieczorek. “We took a step forward this weekend and we are definitely looking forward to the upcoming Drake Relays and the 10th annual Iowa Musco Twilight meet.

The Hawkeyes will compete at the 99th running of the Drake Relays, April 24-26, in Des Moines, IA. All events will be held at Jim Duncan Track in Drake Stadium.

100 Meters1.  Rhonda-Kaye Trusty (Iowa)   12.12
100-Meter Hurdles1.  Jenna Caffrey (Iowa State)  14.213.  Tammilee Kerr (Iowa)    14.61
200 Meters1.  Akaila Cabell (Wisconsin)   25.97
400 Meters1.  Lakeysha Benzing (Unattached)   57.153.  Bethany Praska (Iowa)          58.0013. Sophia Poncé (Iowa)           1:02.52
400-Meter Hurdles1.  Egle Staisiunaite (Wisconsin)   1:02.50
800 Meters1.  Cassie Peller (Marquette)   2:12.074.  Kineke Alexander (Iowa)  2:15.346.  Monica Mims (Iowa)    2:15.949.  Lauren Hardesty (Iowa)    2:17.0112. Rachel Hawks (Iowa)  2:22.68
1,500 Meters1.  Sarah Henize (Iowa) 4:30.062.  Racheal Marchand (Iowa)  4:31.234.  Krista Anderson (Iowa)    4:35.525.  Jessica Schmidt (Iowa)    4:40.756.  Katie Ellis (Iowa)    4:45.129.  Hannah Roeder (Iowa)   4:51.1812. Jennie Docherty (Iowa)    4:52.7615. Amanda Hardesty (Iowa)    4:57.5328. Kathryn Guess (Iowa)    5:06.4234. Caitlin Wooldridge (Iowa)  5:23.7335. Brittany Graham (Iowa)    5:27.25
3,000 Meters1.  Diane Nukuri (Iowa)  9:18.823.  Fionna Fallon (Iowa)    10:16.76
3,000-Meter Steeplechase1.  Jen Lang (S. Dakota St.)    11:45.28
1,600-Meter Relay1.  Iowa (Praska, Kerr, Trusty, Mims)   3:52.19
High Jump1.  Erynn James (Marquette) 5-73.  Caleigh Bacchus (Iowa)    5-5
Long Jump1.  Kayla McClendon (Wisconsin) 17-5 1/2
Triple Jump1.  LaQuita Brazil (Wisconsin)  37-8 1/2
Pole Vault1.  Carrie Schmid (Marquette)   12-5 1/2
Shot Put1.  Rachel Thiel (Marquette)    47-713. Tammilee Kerr (Iowa)    32-3
Discus1.  Sara Ackman (S. Dakota St.) 167-10
Javelin1.  Erika Sepich (Bradley)  127-10
Hammer1.  Becca Franklin (Unattached)    176-48.  Erin O'Hern (Iowa)     156-816. Mandy Chandler (Iowa)  138-0
100 Meters1.  Lee Elbert (Iowa)  10.912.  Max Milder (Iowa)  10.966.  Ryan Niver (Iowa)  11.60
110-Meter Hurdles1.  Nate Larkin (Wisconsin) 14.285.  Frank Prill (Iowa)    15.566.  Brice Wilson (Iowa)  15.81
200 Meters1.  Dirk Homewood (Unattached)  21.464.  Max Milder (Iowa)      22.29
400 Meters1.  Lancford Davis (Unattached) 47.182.  Chris Barton (Iowa)  47.823.  Steven Willey (Iowa)    48.1210. Brandon McSkimming (Iowa)  51.85
400-Meter Hurdles1.  Joey Woody (Unattached)    51.542.  Ray Varner (Iowa)      53.3010. Matt Rammelsberg (Iowa)  57.0411. Zach Splan (Iowa)      57.16
800 Meters1.  Adam Hairston (Iowa)    1:51.8410. Cannon Dolan (Iowa)  1:55.7511. Dan Kuhlman (Iowa)    1:56.07
3,000 Meters1.  Joseph Mbari (Illinois-Chicago) 8:41.572.  Brendan Camplin (Iowa)        8:43.319.  Tommy Tate (Iowa)              8:57.97
1,500 Meters1.  Andy Napier (Iowa)    3:57.144.  Bruce MacTaggart (Iowa)  4:02.286.  Robert Ingram (Iowa)    4:03.489.  Heath Moenck (Iowa)  4:05.0910. James Paul (Iowa)      4:05.6312. Jay Renaud (Iowa)      4:07.54
3,000-Meter Steeplechase1.  Peter Bolgert (Marquette)   9:24.87
400-Meter Relay1.  Iowa    41.67    (Milder, McSkimming, Reed, Elbert)
1,600-Meter Relay1.  Iowa    3:17.73    (Dolan, Hairston, Splan, Kuhlman)
High Jump1.  Pat Nichols (Wisconsin) 6-8 3/42.  Ryan Kelly (Iowa)      6-6 3/44.  Jeremy Petsche (Iowa)  6-2 3/45.  Dan Rolling (Iowa)    6-2 3/4
Long Jump1.  Aaron Reed (Iowa)      22-2 1/42.  Matty Gorman (Iowa)  22-0 1/46.  Cody Mixon (Iowa)      21-3 1/4
Triple Jump1.  Josh Bean (Iowa)    48-0 1/23.  Matty Gorman (Iowa)  46-10 1/4
Pole Vault1.  Darren Nedermeier (Unatt.)  17-0 3/43.  Jeff Raymond (Iowa)  15-37.  Alex Zona (Iowa)    14-99.  Mark Mankivsky (Iowa)  14-913. Ryan Niver (Iowa)      13-9 1/414. Frank Prill (Iowa)    12-9 1/2
Shot Put1.  John Hickey (Iowa)    58-0 1/42.  A.J. Curtis (Iowa)  57-10 1/23.  Shane Maier (Iowa)    55-07.  Mark Schaapveld (Iowa)    48-6 1/411. Ryan Niver (Iowa)      37-8 3/4
Discus1.  Shane Maier (Iowa)    171-12.  A.J. Curtis (Iowa)  170-05.  John Hickey (Iowa)    157-1016.  Bobby Windauer (Iowa) 96-2
Javelin1.  Robert Dehn (Wisconsin) 202-67.  Craig Jennings (Iowa)  162-11
Hammer1.  Mike Behrens (Unattached)   191-83.  Ryan Jordan (Iowa)          176-84.  Mark Schaapveld (Iowa)    166-4



Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.