Hawkeyes Crown 10 Musco Twilight Champions

May 3, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA — The Hawkeye men and women’s track and field team crowned 10 champions and posted five regional qualifying performances Saturday evening at the 10th annual Iowa Musco Twilight meet at Francis X. Cretzmeyer Track in Iowa City, IA. A total of six meet records fell during the five-team co-ed event, and 28 competitors posted regional qualifying marks.

Hawkeye seniors Max Milder, Lee Elbert, Shane Maier, Mark Schaapveld, Aaron Reed, Monica Mims and Kineke Alexander all won events in their finals appearances at Cretzmeyer Track. Milder was a three-time winner, taking titles in the 100 (10.85) and 200 meters (21.97) and running the lead leg of the winning 400-meter relay. Alexander, Elbert, sophomore Ray Varner and freshman Chris Barton each won two events. Alexander won the 400 meters with a regional qualifying 54.52 and ran the second leg on the winning women’s 1,600-meter relay. Elbert anchored the 400-meter relay and ran the second leg of the winning men’s 1,600-meter relay. Varner won the 400-meter hurdles with a regional qualifying 52.16, and ran the third leg of the 1,600-meter relay. Barton won the 400 meters (47.54) and anchored the 1,600-meter relay. Maier won the discus with a collegiate-best 178-7, which improved his previous regional qualifying mark. Schaapveld won the hammer throw with a collegiate-best 179-9. Reed anchored the winning 400-meter relay, while Mims ran the first leg of the 1,600-meter relay.

Iowa’s other event winners were junior Racheal Marchand and freshmen Steven Willey, Brandon McSkimming, Tiffany Hendricks and Bethany Praska. Marchand set a meet record with the winning, collegiate-best and regional qualifying 16:27.02 in the 5,000 meters. Willey, Hendricks and Praska each ran on the winning 1600-meter relay, while McSkimming ran on the winning 400-meter relay.

Maier and junior A.J. Curtis both improved their previous regional qualifying performances in the shot put and discus. Curtis placed second in the discus (177-2) and shot (58-1 3/4), while Maier placed third in the shot put (57-5).

Former Hawkeyes Shellene Williams and Peaches Roach each won events while competing unattached. Williams won the 200 meters (23.83), while Roach tied the meet record of 5-10 3/4 she set last season in the high jump. Hawkeye freshman Nick Brayton, who was competing unattached, placed fourth in the discus with a regional qualifying mark of 171-9 in his collegiate debut.

Northern Iowa’s Rachel Jansen won the women’s hammer throw, discus and shot put, setting meet and facility records in the hammer (202-7) and shot put (54-1).

Iowa’s next competition will by May 16-18 at the Big Ten Outdoor Championships in Champaign, IL. All events will be held at the Illinois Soccer and Track Stadium on the University of Illinois campus. Competition is scheduled to start at Noon Friday, 9:30 a.m. Saturday and 11 a.m. Sunday (CT).

IOWA WOMEN'S MEET RESULTS (Winner Plus Iowa Placers)
100 Meters1.  Meredith Kosmacek-Simon (N. Iowa)   12.26
200 Meters1.  Shellene Williams (Unattached)  23.832.  Rhonda-Kaye Trusty (Iowa)       24.54
400 Meters1.  Kineke Alexander (Iowa)  54.525.  Bethany Praska (Iowa)  57.796.  Monica Mims (Iowa)    58.0710. Tiffany Hendricks (Iowa)    59.61
800 Meters1.  Amy Bagge (N. Iowa) 2:16.277.  Sophia Poncé (Iowa)   2:22.80
1,500 Meters1.  Casey McDermott (Drake) 4:38.173.  Jessica Schmidt (Iowa)    4:40.656.  Lauren Hardesty (Iowa)    4:45.267.  Amanda Hardesty (Iowa)    4:45.769.  Katie Ellis (Iowa)    4:51.1215. Jennie Docherty (Iowa)    4:56.9616. Fionna Fallon (Iowa)    4:58.4321. Rachel Hawks (Iowa)  5:07.2822. Kathryn Guess (Iowa)    5:12.1423. Molly Esche (Iowa)    5:12.8526. Brittany Graham (Iowa)    5:34.1927. Caitlin Wooldridge (Iowa)  5:36.42
5,000 Meters1.  Racheal Marchand (Iowa)  16:27.022.  Krista Anderson (Iowa)    17:28.09
100-Meter Hurdles1.  Dawn Solberg (Minnesota)    13.834.  Tammilee Kerr (Iowa)    14.42
400-Meter Hurdles1.  Kara Yahn (N. Iowa) 1:02.69
3,000-Meter Steeplechase1.  Megan Duwell (Minnesota)    10:49.276.  Hannah Roeder (Iowa)   11:43.16
400-Meter Relay1.  Wisconsin                     47.20    (McClendon, Dodge, Cabell, Beecham)
1,600-Meter Relay1.  Iowa                3:48.17    (M. Mims, Alexander, Hendricks, Praska)
High Jump1.  Peaches Roach (Unattached)  5-10 3/45.  Caleigh Bacchus (Iowa)    5-5
Pole Vault1.  Alicia Rue (Minnesota)  13-7 1/4
Long Jump1.  Christin Kingsley (Minnesota)   19-10 3/4
Triple Jump1.  LaQuita Brazil (Wisconsin)  38-6 3/4
Shot Put1.  Rachel Jansen (N. Iowa) 54-1
Discus1.  Rachel Jansen (N. Iowa) 171-1
Hammer1.  Rachel Jansen (N. Iowa) 202-73.  Erin O'Hern (Iowa)     167-58.  Mandy Chandler (Iowa)  146-3
Javelin1.  Alicia Whisner (Unattached) 148-1
IOWA MEN'S MEET RESULTS (Winner Plus Iowa Placers)
100 Meters1.  Max Milder (Iowa)  10.852.  Lee Elbert (Iowa)  10.87
200 Meters1.  Max Milder (Iowa)  21.97
400 Meters1.  Chris Barton (Iowa)  47.543.  Steven Willey (Iowa)    47.815.  Brandon McSkimming (Iowa)  49.25
800 Meters1.  Tyler Mulder (N. Iowa)  1:49.994.  Adam Hairston (Iowa)    1:51.4714. Cannon Dolan (Iowa)  1:55.6018. Dan Kuhlman (Iowa)    1:58.89
1,500 Meters1.  Eddie Kibira, Minnesota 3:52.383.  Jesse Luciano (Iowa)    3:56.004.  Andy Napier (Iowa)    3:56.445.  Bruce MacTaggart (Iowa)  4:01.298.  Robert Ingram (Iowa)    4:02.9912. Jay Renaud (Iowa)      4:10.72
5,000 Meters1.  Sean Olsen (Unattached) 14:41.864.  Brendan Camplin (Iowa)    15:01.70
100-Meter Hurdles1.  Jarrel Anderson (N. Iowa) 14.293.  Brice Wilson (Iowa)  15.069.  Ryan Niver (Iowa)      15.61
400-Meter Hurdles1.  Ray Varner (Iowa)      52.164.  Zach Splan (Iowa)      55.495.  Matt Rammelsberg (Iowa)  55.68
3,000-Meter Steeplechase1.  Ben Kampf (Minnesota)   9:21.43
400-Meter Relay1.  Iowa                41.47    (Milder, McSkimming, Reed, Elbert)
1,600-Meter Relay1.  Iowa "A"            3:12.05    (Willey, Elbert, Varner, Barton2.  Iowa "B"            3:14.22    (Dolan, McSkimming, Splan, Hairston)
High Jump1.  Ehi Oamen (N. Iowa) 6-10 3/43.  Trey Stross (Iowa)    6-8 3/44.  Dan Rolling (Iowa)    6-6 3/45.  Jeremy Petsche (Iowa)  6-6 3/47.  Ryan Kelly (Iowa)      6-4 3/48.  Ryan Niver (Iowa)      6-2 3/4
Pole Vault1.  Brock Spandl (Minnesota)    16-6 3/47.  Alex Zona (Iowa)    15-18.  Jeff Raymond (Iowa)  15-110. Mark Mankivsky (Iowa)  14-1 1/4
Long Jump1.  Rayme Mackinson (Wisconsin) 23-5 1/23.  Aaron Reed (Iowa)      22-11 3/45.  Matty Gorman (Iowa)  22-89.  Cody Mixon (Iowa)      20-11 1/4
Triple Jump1.  Alonzo Moore (Unattached)   52-6 3/42.  Josh Bean (Iowa)    48-95.  Matty Gorman (Iowa)  47-1 1/2
Shot Put1.  Aaron Studt (Minnesota) 58-7 1/42.  A.J. Curtis (Iowa)  58-1 3/43.  Shane Maier (Iowa)    57-56.  Mark Schaapveld (Iowa)    51-11 1/4
Discus1.  Shane Maier (Iowa)    178-72.  A.J. Curtis (Iowa)  177-2
Hammer1.  Mark Schaapveld (Iowa)    179-92.  Ryan Jordan (Iowa)    178-3
Javelin1.  Robert Dehn (Wisconsin) 187-23.  Craig Jennings (Iowa)  167-15.  Alex Zona (Iowa)    143-0




Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.