UI Fans Can 'Hawk the Vote'

June 19, 2008

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa fans have an opportunity to vote for Hawkeye coaches Tracey Griesbaum and Lisa Bluder as the Big Ten Network prepares for its inaugural postseason awards show.

The Big Ten Network will recognize the conference’s top plays, performers and performances of 2007-08 during the Big Ten Awards Show beginning at 9 p.m. (Iowa time) on Friday, June 20.

Fans can cast their ballots online at www.BigTenNetwork.com for the Play of the Year, the Big Ten Male Athletic Coach of the Year and the Big Ten Female Athletic Coach of the Year. Griesbaum (field hockey) and Bluder (basketball) are candidates for the women’s coach of the year award. Surprisingly, Tom Brands, who was named Big Ten Conference and NCAA National Coach of the Year, is not on the ballot as a men’s coach of the year candidate.

Winners of the conference’s highest awards — the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year and the Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year — will also be revealed during the hour-long program. The network will also present an additional series of awards to the most deserving individuals and teams. The categories include Breakout Performer of the Year, Most Dominating Individual Performance, Most Courageous Performance, Best Finish, Best Game, Women’s Athletic Team of the Year and Men’s Athletic Team of the Year.

Hawkeye Diane Nukuri is in the running for the Most Dominating Performance category after shattering the Big Ten women’s cross country meet record by 45 seconds Oct. 28 in Columbus, Ohio. UI women’s basketball player Johanna Solverson is a nominee for the Most Courageous Performance for playing in the NCAA Tournament just two weeks after suffering a knee injury in the Big Ten Tournament. Fans cannot vote for those awards.

Candidates for Big Ten Women’s Team of the Year includes Iowa field hockey and basketball. The Hawkeye wrestling team is in contention for Big Ten Men’s Team of the Year.

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.