Luciano Runs Collegiate Best At NCAA Meet

Nov. 24, 2008

TERRE HAUTE, IN — Hawkeye junior Jesse Luciano ran a collegiate-best 30:17.8 to place 43rd in the men’s 10,000-meter race at the 2008 NCAA Cross Country Championships in Terre Haute, IN, Monday. His time ranks second in school history and was only seven seconds off the school record set by Micah VanDenend in 2002.

“Jesse had a terrific performance,” explained Head Men’s Coach Larry Wieczorek. “He felt like he laid it all out and ran the best race of his career. While he was disappointed about not finishing the in the top 40 to earn all-America honors, he beat a lot of outstanding competitors.”

Hawkeye senior Racheal Marchand broke the 20-minute mark in a 6,000-meter cross country race for the first time in her career, placing fifth in 19:54.9 in the women’s race. Marchand, who earned all-America honors with her finish, led the Hawkeye women’s team to a 24th place-finish at the national meet.

The Washington women’s squad won its first team title in school history, scoring 79 points, and Texas Tech senior Sally Kipyego won her third NCAA individual title in 19:28.1. The Oregon men’s team – led by race winner Galen Rupp (29:03.2) – won its second straight team title, scoring 93 points.

“It was a very solid day for us,” said Head Women’s Coach Layne Anderson. “We were ranked 23rd coming into the race and finished 24th, so we ran right around our ranking. It was a tight team race as only nine points separated the 21st thru 25th-place finishers. Racheal’s individual performance was remarkable and outstanding.”

Marchand, who was named 2008 Midwest Regional Female Athlete of the Year last week, knocked 27 seconds off her previous collegiate best in the NCAA race to earn her second all-America honor. She is Iowa’s 14th all-American and the fourth Hawkeye to earn multiple all-America honors. Her time of 19:54.9 ranks second in school history.

The Iowa distance runners will now turn their attention to the 2009 track and field season. The team will host its annual co-ed intrasquad meet Dec. 7 at 3 p.m. at the University of Iowa Recreation Building.

Men’s Individual Results (Top Five Plus Iowa)
1. Galen Rupp (Oregon) 29:03.2
2. Samuel Chelanga (Liberty) 29:08.0
3. Andrew Ledwith (Iona) 29:25.4
4. David Kinsella (Portland) 29:26.5
5. Luke Puskedra (Oregon) 29:27.8
43. Jesse Luciano (Iowa) 30:17.8

Complete NCAA Men’s Individual Results in PDF Format