Men's Team To Open Indoor Season

Jan. 5, 2009

THIS WEEK — The Hawkeye men’s track team will host Illinois Saturday at noon at the University of Iowa Recreation Building in Iowa City. Admission to the event is free.

HAWKEYE TRACK STAFF — The Hawkeye coaching staff has some new faces and responsibilities for the 2009 season. Larry Wieczorek will remain the men’s head track and cross country coach, and Layne Anderson will remain the women’s head track and cross country coach, but the teams will share administrative responsibilities, coordinate their competition schedules and divide coaching responsibilities by event instead of gender. Assistant Scott Cappos, who is in his 13th year at Iowa, will coach the throws, while third-year assistant Joey Woody will coach the men’s sprints, short hurdles and relays, and women’s long sprints and hurdles. First-year assistant Clive Roberts will coach the women’s short sprints, hurdles and relays, as well as the horizontal jumps for both groups. First-year assistant Christi Smith will direct the multi-events and vertical jumps.

2009 MEN’S SEASON PREVIEW — The senior class of all-Americans Eric MacTaggart and John Hickey, 2008 Big Ten outdoor high jump champion Ryan Kelly, discus school-record holder A.J. Curtis and all-region distance runner Andy Napier will lead the team. Juniors Adam Hairston (middle distance), Jesse Luciano (distance) and Ray Varner (hurdles) also provide experience. Several newcomers will also make an impact as 16 Hawkeyes redshirted last season and will be eligible for the first time. The coaching staff is looking for big things from redshirt freshmen Matt Banse, Ryan Lamparek and Nick Brayton.

2009 WOMEN’S SEASON PREVIEW — The 2009 Hawkeyes will rely on several inexperienced returnees and talented newcomers after graduating five individuals who combined for one NCAA title, 16 all-America honors, four regional titles, 13 all-region honors, nine Big Ten titles, 16 school records and nine academic all-Big Ten honors. Defending Big Ten indoor triple jump champion Renee White returns for her senior campaign, along with senior Krista Anderson (distance), juniors Jolly Burke (distance) and Rhonda-Kaye Trusty (sprints), and sophomores Amanda and Lauren Hardesty (distance), Hannah Roeder (distance), Bethany Praska (sprints), Karessa Farley (hurdles) and Tiffany Hendricks (sprints).

NEXT UP — The Hawkeye men and women’s teams will host the annual Iowa Open Jan. 17 at the University of Iowa Recreation Building in Iowa City. Events are scheduled to start at 11 a.m. Competing teams include Central Methodist, Iowa Central, Truman State, Wisconsin-Whitewater and Chicago State. Admission to the event is free.

Complete Release in PDF Format