Iowa Breaks Records At Western Illinois


Jan. 16, 2009

Complete Results

MACOMB, IL – The Iowa swimming and diving team dominated Western Illinois this evening, taking first in every swimming event at Brophy Pool and breaking several pool records in the process. The Hawkeye men posted a final score of 156 over the Leathernecks’ 74 points for their fourth dual meet victory this season. The Iowa men are now 4-1 this season and 2-1 in the Big Ten. Also taking first place, the Hawkeye women scored a total of 157 points ahead of the Westerwinds’ 73 points. Following tonight’s victory, the Iowa women are 5-2 overall this season and 1-2 in the Big Ten.

Both the men and women’s relay teams swam strong tonight, winning all relay events and breaking two relay records. For the Iowa women, Daniela Cubelic, Julie Feingold, Kathryn Michelau, and Julie deBruin took first in the 200 medley relay in 1:49.59, breaking the pool record of 1:50.01 in the event set in 1988 by Southern Illinois. Alison Gschwend, Verity Hicks, DeBruin and Christine Kuczek captured the top spot in the 200 free relay, posting a time of 1:39.21. Sean Hagan, Matt Ryan, Max Dittmer, and Ryan Phelan finished first in the men’s 200 medley relay, finishing the race in 1:35.49 and breaking the pool record of 1:36.14 set by Missouri State in 2003. Also earning a first place finish, Conor Dwyer, Duncan Partridge, Brian Farris, and Richard Salhus teamed up in the 200 free relay, finishing in a time of 1:27.05.

Gschwend led the Hawkeye women, posting two first place times in individual events and breaking a pool record in the process. Gschwend took first in both the 200 IM (2:11.34) and the 100 back in 58.18, which set a new pool record for the event. The previous 100 back record time was 1:00.05 set in 1995. Katarina Tour also earned two individual first place finishes and broke a pool record as well. Tour posted the top times in the 100 fly (58.46) and the 100 breast (1:06.13). Tour’s 1:06.13 in the 100 breast set a new pool record in the event, the previous record of 1:07.58 was set in 1985.

In men’s action, Dwyer had another standout meet, setting two new pool records. Dwyer took first in the 200 IM in a time of 1:52.02, soundly breaking the previous record of 1:56.90 that was set in 1994. Dwyer also claimed first place in the 500 free with a time of 4:30.00 which shattered the previous pool record of 4:38.70 that had stood since 1978. Ryan also broke a pool record in the 100 breastroke, taking first in the event in a time of 53.86. The previous event record was 58.76 set in 2001. Ryan Evans represented the Hawkeyes in the 1,000 free, taking first in the event with a time of 9:46.58. Nick Divan also claimed first in an event for the Hawkeyes. Divan took the top spot in the 200 free race, touching the wall in 1:44.30.

The Iowa women will return to action tomorrow morning, traveling to Champaign, IL to take on the University of Illinois. Competition is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. at the Illinois Natatorium. The Hawkeye men will have the day off.