Iowa Open Awaits Hawkeyes

Jan. 12, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format

The University of Iowa track and field team will host the Iowa Open Jan. 16. Events are set to begin at 11 a.m. at the UI Recreation Building. Participating teams include Central Methodist, Truman State, and Western Illinois. The Iowa Open is the first of two home meets the Hawkeyes will host during the 2010 indoor track and field season.

Seven former Hawkeye all-Americans are expected to compete at the Iowa Open. They include:

Kineke Alexander: NCAA Champion (400m), 2004 and 2008 Olympian, 2009 World Championships semi-finalist (400m)
Tim Dwight: Big Ten Athlete of the Year, Football all-American, former NFL athlete
John Hickey: all-American, shot put (2008-09)
Diane Nukuri: Big Ten Athlete of the Year (2007)
Peaches Roach: Four-time NCAA all-American, high jump
Renee White: Big Ten Conference Meet record-holder, triple jump
Shellene Williams: NCAA all-American (400-meters)

In addition to past Hawkeyes, Lancford Davis of the Jamaican National Team is also scheduled to participate.

MEN’S HEAD COACH Larry Wieczorek
“We’re coming off a great meet at Illinois so I’m looking forward to getting back on the track and embracing another challenge. We’re going to work hard this week so we can see some improvement on the track this weekend and build some more momentum before heading to Minnesota the following week.”

“It’s going to be great to get on the track and measure ourselves against outside competition. We always aim to start the season strong so I’m going to be looking for some outstanding performances and some signs that resemble the effort of a complete team.”

Dan Rolling and the Hawkeyes resume the Indoor track season by hosting the Iowa Open Saturday at 11 a.m.

The University of Iowa men’s season opener came down to the final event in a thrilling start to the indoor track season. Trailing by one point, Iowa won the 1,600-meter relay to edge out Illinois with a final score of 80.5 to 79.5. All told, Iowa won seven events. Sophomore Ryan Lamparek won the weight throw with a career-best toss of 59-5 3/4 (18.13m) and freshman Kevin Dibbern won the 400 meters with a career-best time of 49.14.

Twelve athletes from the men’s track and field squad shared 13 awards for the 2008-09 cross country and track and field seasons. Head Coach Larry Wieczorek announced the winners at the annual banquet. Paul Chaney earned the Most Valuable Competitor award. Chaney led the team with collegiate best times in the 100 (10.46) and 200-meters (21.04) and also helped anchor a winning 400-meter relay team (40.71) and a school-record setting 800-meter relay team (1:24.85) at the 2009 Drake Relays. Senior Dan Rolling took home the Teammate Award and was also named the Most Inspirational Competitor. The Deacon Jones Outstanding Cross Country Award went to freshman Jeff Thode. Thode led the team in five of six races this season and earned all-region honors.

Competitors will be split on Jan. 23 between the Jack Johnson Classic in Minneapolis, MN, and the Razorback Invitational in Fayetteville, AK.