Karessa Farley Provisionally Qualifies at Iowa Invite


Feb. 19, 2010

Complete Results | Photo Gallery

IOWA CITY, IA — The University of Iowa track squads competed in their final home meet of the indoor season, hosting the Iowa Invite Friday night.

Junior Karessa Farley provisionally qualified in the finals of the 60-meter hurdles with a season best time of 8.37. She is the eighth Hawkeye to provisionally qualify this season. Freshman Kirsten Weismantle won the women’s pole vault with a collegiate-best height of 11-5 3/4 (3.50m). This ranks her third all-time at Iowa in the women’s pole vault. Freshman Kyle Reid won the men’s pole vault, also setting a collegiate-best at 16-4 3/4 (5.00m). This mark ties him for fourth all-time at Iowa with current Hawkeye senior Alex Zona. Sophomore Matt Banse won the men’s weight throw with a collegiate-best 61-7 1/2 (18.78m), which ranks sixth all-time at Iowa. Freshman Majesty Tutson won the women’s weight throw with a collegiate-best distance of 52-8 3/4 (16.07m).

“I thought today was terrific,” said Men’s Head Coach Larry Wieczorek. “Sometimes, people look at a meet the week before the Big Ten Championships as a low-key meet, maybe not competition at the highest level although I always feel there’s good competition. We got a lot of good things done. Kyle Reid comes to mind, beating his previous best by over a foot as a freshman. I think we accomplished our goal of sharpening up for the Big Ten Championships and having some people improve and ready to go.”

“All in all, it was a solid meet,” said Women’s Head Coach Layne Anderson. “The highlight of the night would have to be Karessa’s provisional qualifying time in the 60-meter hurdles. We’ve been looking for that from her for the past couple weeks, so it’s good for her to go into the conference championships with that kind of confidence. Now it’s time to get our eyes focused on the Big Ten Championships.”

Iowa begins its championship portion of the schedule with the Big Ten Championships on Feb. 27-28. The men’s championships will be hosted by the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, MN. Saturday events at the University of Minnesota Field House are scheduled to begin at 10:30 a.m. CST and Sunday’s events will start at 10:20 a.m. The women’s championships will be hosted by Penn State University in State Park, PA. Events will take place at the Ashenfeter Multi-Sport Facility, with Saturday action commencing at 8 a.m. and Sunday events beginning at 10 a.m.