Husz and Walters Share MVP Honors

Jan. 29, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Senior Becky Walters and junior Mallory Husz have been named co-winners of the Most Valuable Player Award for the Iowa volleyball team. The announcement was made by head coach Sharon Dingman at the team’s annual awards banquet Saturday afternoon.

Walters, the Hawkeyes’ lone senior, led Iowa with 240 kills and 96 total blocks while setting the single season school record with 41 service aces. Husz ranked second on the team in kills (237) and total blocks (93) despite missing some time with a shoulder injury. She was also honored with the Academic Excellence Award after earning Academic All-Big Ten laurels for the second time in her career.

Megan Eskew and Bethany Yeager shared Practice Player of the Year honors. The award recognizes the student-athlete(s) that consistently makes her teammates better through hard work and dedication on the practice court. Yeager’s commitment to the practice floor helped her lead the Hawkeyes in digs (462). The freshman was one of only three Hawkeyes to appear in every set (Eskew, Walters).

Eskew’s effort in the practice gym helped her respond from a 2009 knee injury that sidelined her for the entire season. She returned to the court in 2010 to lead Iowa in total attacks (800) and earn the honor of Most Improved Player.

Husz, Eskew and Tiffany Nilges were also recognized for being named to the Academic All-Big Ten team.

Iowa captured two tournament titles and ranked No. 28 in national attendance in 2010. The Hawkeyes will return 10 of 11 letterwinners in 2011.

Co-MVP: Becky Walters and Mallory Husz
Academic Excellence: Mallory Husz
Most Improved Player: Megan Eskew
Co-Practice Player of the Year: Megan Eskew and Bethany Yeager

Megan Eskew, Jr.
Mallory Husz, Jr.
Tiffany Nilges, Jr.