Hull Earns Shot Put Title at ISU Classic

Feb. 10, 2012

Photo Gallery

Men’s Results | Women’s Results

AMES, Iowa – The University of Iowa Track and Field team competed in day one of the Iowa State Classic Friday. The Hawkeyes rallied behind Jasmine Simpson, Ben Stancombe, and Raven Moore who each earned their way into Iowa’s top ten all-time performers list.

Simpson started off the day for the Hawkeyes recording a personal best finish in the weight throw. The sophomore finished 12th with a toss of 54-00 (16.46m). That time ranks eighth all-time at Iowa.

Moore, a sophomore, sprinted to a fifth place finish in the 200 meters with a personal best time of 24.65. That time ranks tenth all-time at Iowa.

Freshman Gabe Hull threw a personal best toss of 55-11 ¼ (17.05m) to take the title in the shot put, while Stancombe finished eighth in the weight throw with a personal best toss of 57-4 ¾ (17.49m). The junior’s mark ranks tenth all-time at Iowa.

Junior Cameron Rieger and sophomore Jon Michael Brandt recorded personal best times in the 3,000 meters. Rieger crossed the line in 8:31.52 to finish sixth, while Brandt followed close behind finishing ninth with a time of 8:37.97.

Freshmen Kyle Wheeler and Brennan Davey ran to personal best finishes in the 800 meters. Wheeler crossed the line in 1:54.00 to record a 13th place finish, while Davey finished 20th with a time of 1:54.74.

Freshman Victoria Sack and sophomore Kelsey Quinn recorded personal best performances in the 400 meters. Sack finished sixth with a time of 56.65, while Quinn crossed the line in 57.21 to finish tenth.

Tevin-Cee Mincy had a solid day in the 200 meters. The sophomore sprinted to a third place finish crossing the line in a personal best time of 21.94.

The Hawkeyes return to action Saturday at day two of the Iowa State Classic. The events are set to begin at 11 a.m.