Doris, Sowinski Crowned Big Ten Champions

Feb. 25, 2012

Photo Gallery

Video interview with T. Doris | Video interview with E. Sowinski

Complete Results

LINCOLN, Neb. – The University of Iowa Track and Field teams captured two titles at the Big Ten Indoor Championships Saturday. Senior Troy Doris took the triple jump crown, while senior Erik Sowinski took the 800 meters title. The men’s team racked up 45 points to finish eighth, while the women finished 10th with 21 points.

Doris, a senior from Bolingbrook, Ill., was the first Hawkeye to reach the top of the podium Saturday afternoon. The senior finished first with a leap of 52-1 ¾ (15.89m). Doris also competed in the 60 meters final where he finished sixth with a time of 6.83.

Sowinski captured the 800 meters title when he crossed the line in 1:47.90. The Waukesha, Wis. native also ran fourth leg on the 1,600-meter relay team that finished sixth with a time of 3:10.52. Senior Patrick Richards, freshman Kaleb Van Cleave, and junior Keaton Rickels were also part of the relay team.

“The two Big Ten Champions were certainly a highlight,” said director of track and field Larry Wieczorek. “They are both deserving athletes and outstanding leaders of this team.”

Rickels ran to a fourth place finish in the 600 meters. The junior’s personal best time of 1:18.19 ranks third all-time at Iowa.

Richards also competed in the 400 meters. The senior finished seventh posting a time of 47.95.

Juniors Jeff Thode and Nick Holmes finished eighth and ninth, respectively, in the mile. Thode crossed the line in 4:09.14, while Holmes followed close behind with a time of 4:09.46.

Jeffery Herron, a senior, reached a height of 6-10 ¾ (2.10m) to take fourth in the high jump.

Senior Matt Banse recorded a tenth place finish in the weight throw with a toss of 62-8 ½ (19.11m). Ryan Lamparek also competed in the event. The senior’s personal best toss of 61-2 (18.64m) ranks seventh all-time at Iowa.

Ashley Liverpool ran to a sixth place finish in the 400 meters. The sophomore finished with a time of 54.81.

Senior Nicole Erickson recorded a personal best time in the 600 meters. Erickson crossed the line in 1:31.71. That time ranks fifth all-time at Iowa.

The women’s 1,600-meter relay team of junior Hannah Simonson, Liverpool, Erickson, and freshman Victoria Sack had their best performance of the season. The team finished sixth with a time of 3:41.78. That time ranks sixth all-time at Iowa.

Graduate Student Mareike Schrulle and seniors Brooke Eilers and McKenzie Melander all competed in the 5,000 meters. Schrulle finished sixth with a personal best time of 16:29.41 ranks 10th all-time at Iowa. Eilers followed close behind finishing seventh with a time of 16:38.87, while Melander finished 11th recording a time of 16:51.53.

The Hawkeyes will return to action when they split teams between Ames, Iowa, and South Bend, Ind. for the Last Chance Meet on Mar. 3.