Hawkeyes Capture 14 Titles at Musco Twilight

April 21, 2012

Photo Gallery 1 | Photo Gallery 2

Complete Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa track and field teams hosted the 13th annual Musco Twilight Saturday at the Francis X. Cretzmeyer Track. On a chilly night, the Hawkeyes tallied 14 first place finishes. The Musco Twilight Meet will air on BTN Sunday, May 6 at 5 p.m.

Majesty Tutson broke her own school record in the discus special Friday night. The junior recorded a personal best toss of 172-11 (52.72m) to finish third. Tutson’s mark beat her previous school record of 172-3 (52.52m), which she recorded at the Big Ten Championships. Sophomore Amanda Stahle also competed in the special. Stahle recorded a personal best mark of 147-11 (45.10m).

Senior McKenzie Melander took the 3,000 meters title. Melander clocked a new meet and facility record with a personal best time of 9:21.59. That time ranks third all-time at Iowa. Megan Ranegar also recorded a personal best time in the event. The junior crossed the line in 9:38.36 to finish second.

Freshman Gabe Hull recorded a personal best toss in the discus. Hull’s toss of 192-7 (58.70m) ranks fifth all-time at Iowa.

Junior Jeff Thode ran to a first place finish in the 1,500 meters. Thode clocked a time of 3:46.65. Junior Nick Holmes also competed in the event. Holmes crossed the line in 3:49.53 to finish sixth. That time ranks eighth all-time at Iowa.

Junior Hannah Simonson and senior Nicole Erickson both recorded personal best finishes in the 400-meter hurdles. Simonson recorded a second place finish, crossing the line in 59.72. That time ranks sixth all-time at Iowa. Erickson recorded a time of 59.98 to finish third. That time ranks eighth all-time at Iowa.

Senior Erik Sowinski recorded a meet record in the 800 meters. Sowinski crossed the line in 1:47.83 to finish second. Sophomores Nathan Prom and Kyle Slaymaker each recorded personal best times in the event. Prom ran to a sixth place finish with a time of 1:50.69, while Slaymaker finished ninth with a time of 1:53.13.

“This was certainly another step forward for our team,” said director of track and field Larry Wieczorek. “We had a lot of good performances. It was a terrific track meet with some of our loyal alums here and our women’s and men’s team both getting better.”

Juniors Jordan Mullen and Ethan Holmes and senior Dan Davis competed in the 110-meter hurdles for the Hawkeyes. Mullen crossed the line first with a time of 13.90, while Holmes (14.01) and Davis (14.14) followed close behind.

Ethan Holmes captured the title in the 400-meter hurdles. The junior crossed the line in 51.24. Junior Keaton Rickels (4th; 52.34) and senior D’Juan Richardson (5th; 52.41) also competed in the event.

Jasmine Simpson captured the title in the hammer throw. The junior’s personal best toss of 181-10 (55.42m) ranks fourth all-time at Iowa.

Iowa dominated the 100 meters competition. Junior Justin Austin sprinted to a first place finish with a time of 10.47. Junior Josh Larney (10.75) and sophomore Tevin-Cee Mincy (10.80) finished second and third, respectively. Richardson followed close behind crossing the line in 10.84 to finish fifth.

Sophomore Erin Jones captured a first place finish in the 200 meters. Jones crossed the line in 24.30. Sophomore Raven Moore followed close behind finishing third with a time of 24.68. Sophomore Ashley Wilkinson also competed in the event finishing seventh clocking a time of 26.14.

Jones and Moore also competed in the 100 meters. Jones finished first in the event with a time of 11.92, while Moore crossed the line in third clocking a time of 12.01.

The Hawkeyes finished first through third in the men’s high jump. Senior Jeffery Herron finished first with a leap of 6-10 ¾ (2.10m), while senior Graham Valdes and Brandon Oest both reached a height of 6-8 ¾ (2.05m).

Seniors Troy Doris and Herron took first and second, respectively, in the long jump. Doris reached a mark of 23-9 (7.24m), while Herron recorded a leap of 23-1 ¼ (7.04m). Freshman Sarah Ryan earned a first place finish in the long jump. Ryan reached a mark of 17-8 ¼ (5.39m).

The men’s 400-meter relay team of Richardson, Austin, Mincy, and Larney took the title with a time of 40.61.

The women’s 1,600-meter relay team ran to a first place meet record. The team of freshman Victoria Sack, Erickson, sophomore Kelsey Quinn, and Simonson crossed the line in 3:42.47.

The men’s 1,600-meter relay team ran an exciting race from start to finish. The Iowa `A’ team of senior Patrick Richards, Holmes, junior Keaton Rickels, and Sowinski captured the title when they crossed the line in 3:09.95. The Iowa `B’ team of freshmen Kaleb Van Cleave and Brennan Davey, junior Ryan Weir, and sophomore Kyle Slaymaker followed close behind clocking a time of 3:12.42.

“All in all I thought it was a great day,” said head track and field coach Layne Anderson. “We had a lot of fantastic performances. We took another step in the right direction, and we look forward to Drake next week.”

The Hawkeyes will return to action April 26-28 with the Drake Relays in Des Moines.