5 Hawkeyes Named to 2012 HOF Class

June 29, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The National Iowa Varsity Club and the University of Iowa Athletics Department announced today the names of five individuals who make up the 2012 Athletics Hall of Fame Class. Five former student-athletes will be officially inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame on Sept. 14, the night before Iowa football hosts Northern Iowa. This is Iowa’s 24th Athletics Hall of Fame Class.

Jim Craig (wrestling, 1957-59), Bill Frazier (cross country, 1961-62 and track and field, 1962-63, 65), Royce Alger (wrestling, 1985-88), Liz Tchou (field hockey, 1984-87), and Bashir Yamini (track and field, 1996, 98-99 and football 1998-99) represent Iowa’s newest group of Hall of Fame inductees.

The five were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least 10 years and coaches/administrators at least five years prior to selection.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony banquet will be held Sept. 14 at the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Convention Center. The festivities will begin with a 5:30 p.m. reception followed by dinner and the induction ceremony. The HOF induction banquet is open to the public. Tickets may be purchased for $35 by sending your name and check to the National Iowa Varsity Club, ATTN: HOF Banquet, University of Iowa, 340 CHA, Iowa City, IA, 52242 by Friday, August 31st. For more information please call the Varsity Club office at (319) 335-9438.

Heritage Era – Athletes

Jim Craig — Craig was a three-time letterwinner in wrestling from 1957-59. He was a member of the 1958 Big Ten Championship team and placed third at the NCAA Championships in 1958 at 191 pounds, earning the first of his back-to-back All-America honors. In 1959, Craig dropped down to 177 pounds and won the NCAA title. He placed third in the Big Ten Championships in 1958 as a heavyweight and was the runner-up at 177 pounds in 1959.

Bill Frazier — Frazier earned three varsity letters in track and field (1962-63, 65), as well as two letters in cross country (1961-62). He was a 1962 track and field All-American in the 600 yard event, as well as an eight-time Big Ten Champion, winning the indoor 600 yards, indoor and outdoor 880 yards, the outdoor mile relay and was a member of the 1963 indoor and 1963 outdoor Big Ten Championship team. Frazier held the outdoor 800 meter school record for 50 years from 1962-2012.

Modern Era – Athletes

Royce Alger — Alger was a two-time NCAA champion (1987, 1988), three-time All-American (1986-88), and three-time Big Ten champion (1986-88). He was named the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and Outstanding Wrestler of the Big Ten Championships in both 1987 and 1988, and finished the 1986-87 season undefeated. Following his career at Iowa, Alger became a two-time Pan American Champion, two-time World Cup champion and a World Games Silver medalist.

Liz Tchou — Tchou was a four-time All-Big Ten first team selection, two-time Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient, and led the Hawkeyes to the NCAA Championship in 1986. She was named first team All-America in 1987 and was selected as a member of the 1987 NCAA All-Tournament team. A two-time Big Ten Conference MVP, she was the first Hawkeye female to have her number retired. Following her Hawkeye career, she played for the U.S. Women’s National Team from 1989-95 and was a member of the 1996 Olympic Team.

Bashir Yamini — Yamini earned three varsity letters in track and field, as well as two as a member of the Iowa football team. On the track, he was the 1998 NCAA champion in the long jump and a six-time All-American. He totaled nine Big Ten Championships in the long jump, 200 meters, 400 meters and 1,600-meter relays. He was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1996 and shares the Big Ten Championships record in the long jump.