Hawkeyes Announce 2014 Hall of Fame Class


June 5, 2014


IOWA CITY, Iowa — The National Iowa Varsity Club and the University of Iowa Athletics Department will induct six individuals into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame on Aug. 29, 2014. Five former University of Iowa student-athletes and one former coach make up the 26th Hall of Fame Class.

Don Hatch (gymnastics, 1967-69), Jon Reimer (track and field, 1965-67), Nate Kaeding (football, 2000-03), Bruce Kinseth (wrestling, 1976-79), Jeanne Kruckeberg (cross country, 1987-89; track and field, 1987-90) and Jerry Hassard (women’s cross country and track and field coach, 1976-96) represent Iowa’s newest group of Hall of Fame inductees.

These six inductees were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the UI Athletics Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least 10 years and coaches/administrators at least five years prior to their selection.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony banquet/dinner will be held on Friday, August 29, 2014 at 6:30 p.m. (CT) inside the Grand Coral Ballroom at the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Convention Center. A reception will precede the dinner beginning at 5:30 p.m. (CT).

The induction banquet/dinner is open to the public. Tickets may be purchased for $35 by sending your name and check to the National Iowa Varsity Club, ATTN: HoF Banquet, University of Iowa, N409 CHA, Iowa City, IA, 52242 by Friday, August 22nd. For more information please call the Varsity Club office at (319) 335-9438.

Heritage Era — Athletes

Don Hatch — Don was a three-time letterwinner in gymnastics from 1967-69. He was a three-time NCAA All-American on the still rings, the 1967 U.S. Open still rings champion and a three-time All-Big Ten performer, winning the Big Ten title on the still rings in 1967, 1968 and 1969. He was a member of Iowa’s 1969 NCAA championship team, as well as the 1967 and 1968 Big Ten championship teams.

Jon Reimer — Reimer earned three varsity letters in track from 1965-67, earning All-America honors in the 440-yard hurdles (1965, 1967) and the mile relay (1967). He was a four-time Big Ten champion (1967 indoor mile, 1965 and 1967 outdoor mile relay, 1965 outdoor 330 and 440-yard hurdles). He set both the NCAA and Big Ten mile relay records in 1967, and still holds the Big Ten record in the 330-yard hurdles.

Modern Era – Athletes

Nate Kaeding — Kaeding was a four-year letterwinner for the Iowa football team from 2000-03. He was a two-time first-team All-American (2002-03), and won the 2002 Lou Groza Award as the nation’s best placekicker. An All-Big Ten first-team selection in 2002 and 2003, Kaeding holds school records for single-season and career scoring, consecutive and career field goals made, and PAT’s made in a season, career, and consecutively. Following his career as a Hawkeye, Nate played 10 years in the NFL with the San Diego Chargers and Miami Dolphins.

Bruce Kinseth — Bruce was a four-year letterwinner in wrestling from 1976-79. As a senior he won the 1979 NCAA and Big Ten championships at 150 lbs., becoming the only athlete in NCAA history to pin his way through both the Big Ten and NCAA tournaments. He was named Outstanding Wrestler of the 1979 NCAA Championships and set an Iowa record for pins in a season (23), being awarded the Gorriaran Trophy for the most pins in the least amount of time. He was also the 1978 NCAA runner-up at 150 lbs.

Jeanne Kruckeberg — Kruckeberg earned four varsity letters in cross country (1987-90) and three in track (1988-90). She was a four-time NCAA All-American, two-time Big Ten indoor champion (1987 880 yards, 1989 3,200-meter relay), and a runner-up at the 1989 NCAA Indoor Championships (800 meters) and 1989 Big Ten Cross Country Championships. She was named 1989 Drake Relays Female Athlete of the Meet after winning the 1,500 meters and distance medley relays. She set six school records during her career, and still owns the indoor and outdoor 3,200-meter relay and outdoor distance medley records.


Jerry Hassard — Hassard coached the Iowa women’s cross country and track and field teams from 1976-96. During his tenure, he developed 27 track and field and six cross country All-Americans, 25 Big Ten individual track and field champions, and 12 athletes that competed in the United States Track and Field Olympic Trials. His track and field teams twice placed 10th at the NCAA meet, and his 1982 cross country team won the program’s first Big Ten title and finished eighth at the NCAA Championships, still the highest placing in school history. He coached two student-athletes to NCAA track and field titles, including Nan Doak (1985), Iowa’s first female NCAA champion.

Print Friendly Version