UI Track & Field Announces 2015-16 Team Captains

Oct. 14, 2015

fbgold.jpgtwit22gold.jpgfbblack.jpgtwitblack.jpg UIMagIcon.jpgyoutube_gold.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa track and field program named six student-athletes — Aaron Mallett, Will Teubel, Mitch Wolff, Dakotah Goodell, MonTayla Holder, and Lake Kwaza — team captains for the 2015-16 season. Captains were voted on by the UI track and field coaching staff, and announced to the team on Tuesday.


“I believe a good captain is someone who has a voice based on their athletic performances, as well as how they interact with and lead their event group and the entire team,” director of track and field Joey Woody said. “Each of these individuals has shown leadership in their event groups, as well as leading the team on and off the track and field.”

Iowa officially opens the 2016 indoor track and field season with the Border Battle on Jan. 9 in Champaign, Illinois, before hosting its first home meet on Jan. 16. The postseason begins at the Big Ten Championships in Geneva, Ohio, from Feb. 26-27. The indoor season concludes with the NCAA Championships in Birmingham, Alabama, from March 11-12, and the outdoor season begins the following week with the Baldy Castillo Invitational in Tempe, Arizona, from March 18-19.

“We are very excited to see how this team grows and excels this season,” Woody said. “And I believe these six individuals along with our two cross country captains, Ben Anderson and Tess Wilberding, will be the ones to lead us towards championship level performances.”

Notables on the 2015-16 team captains:

Jr. Aaron Mallett (St. Louis, Mo.)

  • 2015 outdoor Big Ten Champion and first team All-American in the 110-meter hurdles
  • First team All-American indoors in the 60-meter hurdles, placing sixth at the 2015 NCAA Championships (7.79)
  • Broke 27-year-old school record in the 110-meter hurdles at 2015 NCAA Outdoor Championships, placing fifth (13.40)

Sr. Will Teubel (Lisbon, Iowa)

  • Led team in both the indoor (1:49.40) and outdoor (1:48.60) 800 meters
  • Placed third in the 800 meters at the 2015 Big Ten Outdoor Championships
  • Owns the fifth fastest indoor and outdoor 800-meter times in school history

Sr. Mitch Wolff (Plainfield, Ill.)

  • Second team outdoor All-American, finishing 16th in the 400-meter hurdles at the 2015 NCAA Championships
  • Placed fifth in the event at the 2015 Big Ten Outdoor Championships
  • His collegiate-best time of 51.10 lands 10th on Iowa’s all-time list

Sr. Dakotah Goodell (Williamsburg, Iowa)

  • Led team in the 2015 outdoor discus (159-2, 48.52m) and javelin (153-3 1/4, 46.71m) events
  • Owns the second all-time mark in school history in the outdoor discus (169-4, 51.62m)
  • Competed in the first round of javelin at the 2015 NCAA Outdoor Championships

Sr. MonTayla Holder (Indianapolis, Ind.)

  • 2014 Big Ten Champion and second team All-American in the 400-meter relay
  • Her collegiate-best times in the 600 meters (indoor/1:29.98) and 400-meter hurdles (outdoor/57.81) rank third all-time at Iowa
  • Ran on seven indoor 1,600-meter relays that recorded top-10 all-time marks in school history

Sr. Lake Kwaza (Sycamore, Ill.)

  • Broke 30-year-old 100-meter school record, winning the event in 11.40 at the Mt. SAC Relays
  • Ties the school record in the indoor 60 meters (7.41)
  • 2014 Big Ten Champion and second team All-American in the 400-meter relay
Print Friendly Version