Ihm Punches Ticket to NCAA Regional

April 25, 2016

Photo Gallery media-icon-photogallery.gif

fbgold.jpg twitgold222-bluebird.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack-whitebird.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior Amy Ihm has been selected to compete in the NCAA Bryan Regional on May 5-7. Ihm becomes the first UI women’s golfer to compete in NCAA postseason competition since 1990 and the second in program history.


The Bryan regional will be played at Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas, and will be hosted by Texas A&M University and College Station.

“I am so excited,” said UI head coach Megan Menzel. “It has been a very exciting end to the season and Amy has put together an awesome senior campaign. It not only means a lot to her, but to our program as well. She is playing great golf right now and she needs to go to Texas knowing she can make it to the next step too.”

Seventy-two teams and 24 individuals were selected to compete at one of four regional championships, each featuring 18 teams and six individuals. Ihm will be the first Hawkeye to compete in regional competition since the format was adopted. Stacey Arnold advanced to the NCAA Championships in 1990.

Ihm’s standout performance at the Big Ten Championship on April 24 helped to solidify her bid to Regionals. The senior carded 41 bogey-free holes to close the tournament and tied for fourth place overall — earning her a spot on the All-Big Ten Championship Team. The Peosta, Iowa, native’s career-low three-round total of 211 (-5) broke Iowa’s program record of 212 (-4) for individual 54-hole performance.

“I came into this program as a walk on, so I was really far behind and I knew that,” said Ihm. “I knew that it was going to take a lot of hard work, but I think I’ve just put in enough hours to get me to where I am today.

“It’s obviously disappointing not making it as a team, but I’m fortunate enough to get there as an individual. I’m just excited for the opportunity.”

The four regional sites include Stanford Golf Course, in Stanford, California, hosted by Stanford University; Traditions Club, in Bryan, Texas, hosted by Texas A&M University; University Club, in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, hosted by LSU; and Shoal Creek Club, in Shoal Creek, Alabama, hosted by the University of Alabama.

The low six teams and the low three individuals not on those teams (for a total of 24 teams and 12 individuals) from each regional site advance to the 2016 National Championships on May 20-25 at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon.


1. University of California, Los Angeles

2. University of Georgia

3. University of Arizona

4. Kent State University (Mid-American Conference)

5. Furman University (Southern Conference)

6. Texas A&M University, College Station

7. Texas Christian University

8. University of Texas at Austin

9. Southern Methodist University

10. University of Louisville

11. University of Miami (Florida)

12. Tulane University

13. Campbell University (Big South Conference)

14. Indiana University, Bloomington

15. Texas State University (Sun Belt Conference)

16. University of Delaware (Colonial Athletic Conference)

17. Lamar University (Southland Conference)

18. Quinnipiac University (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)


1. Laura Lonardi, Baylor University

2. Alessandra Liu, College of William and Mary

3. Bianca Pagdanganan, Gonzaga University

4. Hannah Wood, University of Oklahoma

5. Brooke Ferrell, University of Wisconsin, Madison

6. Amy Ihm, University of Iowa

Print Friendly Version