Hawkeyes Prep for Postseason at Pre-Nationals

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — Oct. 2016 | 2016 NCAA Cross Country Regional | Men’s Results (PDF) | Women’s Results (PDF)

TERRE HAUTE, Indiana — The University of Iowa men’s and women’s cross country teams prepped for the postseason, competing in the Pre-Nationals on Saturday morning.

The Hawkeyes joined over 60 teams at the LaVern Gibson Cross Country Course where familiar faces led both teams. The women’s team finished 38th overall while the men’s team finished 35th.

“Well, we are not happy with the finish on either side,” UI head coach Randy Hasenbank said. “We had a number of young runners on both sides and they need experience in meets of this size. Their confidence needs to improve as well. We clearly need front runners in a meet like this. A lot to work on both sides between now and Big Tens.”
Senior Tess Wilberding crossed the finish line first for the Hawkeyes on the women’s side. She completed the 6,000-meter race in 21:46, her second best time of the season and the fifth straight race she had led the team. Sophomore Lauren Opatrny followed Wilberding with a career-best time of 21:52 and sophomore Andrea Shine recorded a time of 21:56, a few seconds short of her season best.

Junior Madison Waymire (22:01), junior Kelly Breen (22:28), and junior Marta Gonzalez (22:45) rounded out the top six.

Senior Ben Anderson led the Hawkeyes in the men’s 8,000-meters. The Clive, Iowa, native finished with a time of 25:19. Senior Anthony Gregorio timed in at 25:35, 10 seconds longer than his season best set at the Regional Preview on Oct. 1.

Gregorio was followed by sophomore Ian Eklin (25:48), sophomore Daniel Gardarsson (25:55), sophomore Daniel Murphy (26:14), and sophomore Bailey Hesse-Withbroe (26:30).

Senior Kevin Docherty competed in his second race of the season. He recorded a season best 26:53.

The Hawkeyes begin their postseason run at the Big Ten Championships on Oct. 30 in Minneapolis. The event will be televised live on the Big Ten Network.