Track & Field Garners 7 Big Ten Honors

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — Feb. 2017

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Seven University of Iowa track and field athletes — Senior Aaron Mallett, junior Brittany Brown, sophomore Mar’yea Harris, freshman Emmanuel Ogwo, freshman Collin Hofacker, sophomore DeJuan Frye and junior O’Shea Wilson — earned All-Big Ten honors announced by the conference on Tuesday. 

Mallett earns his fourth first-team All-Big Ten accolade and second in the indoor 60-meter hurdles. He ran to a career-best 7.63 at the Big Ten Championships on Feb. 25 to become Iowa’s first back-to-back Indoor Big Ten Champion since Babatunde Amosu repeated in the triple jump from 2014-15. Outdoor, Mallett was also was named to the first-team All-Big Ten list in the 110-meter high hurdles in 2015 and 2016. 

Brown earned her second first-team All-Big Ten nod and first in the indoor 200 meters. Brown had a career weekend at the Big Ten Championships, setting a personal-best during the prelims of the 200 meters with a time of 22.79 to qualify for finals, where she posted a time of 22.83 to claim her second Big Ten title and place fourth in the NCAA.

The 1,600-meter relay team of Harris, Ogwo, Hofacker, and Frye earned second team All-Big Ten honors after their runner-up finish at the Big Ten Championships. The group ran to a personal-best and schoolrecord 3:04.93. 

Wilson gets his second All-Big Ten honor and first indoor after his performance in the long jump at the meet. The Houston, Texas, native leaped to a mark of 24-feet 10 ½ inches to place runner-up in the event.

In addition, sophomore Andrea Shine and junior Ryan Dorman were named Iowa’s sportsmanship award winners. Each team nominates two student-athletes to be recognized who exemplify sportsmanship both on the track and off.

The Hawkeyes have a week off before heading to College Station, Texas, for the NCAA Championships on March 10-11.