Brown, Mallett, Tausaga Headline 8 All-Big Ten Honorees

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — May 2017

IOWA CITY, Iowa – EightUniversity of Iowa track and field student-athletes earned all-Big Ten recognition, the conference office announced Tuesday.

Junior Brittany Brown, senior Aaron Mallett and freshman Laulauga Tausaga highlighted the list, garnering first team All-Big Ten honors.

Sophomore Christian Brissett, junior O’Shea Wilson, sophomore Reno Tuufuli, junior Jahisha Thomas, and senior Brendan Thompson were each named to the All-Big Ten second team.

Brown earned her second career first-team All-Big Ten nod and first in an individual event. At the Big Ten Championships, she won the open 200 meters with a personal best time of 22.30, breaking her own school record set at the Mt. SAC Relay on April 15. In 2014, Brown anchored the 400-meter relay to a Big Ten title to collect her first All-Big Ten accolade.

She became the second Hawkeye to win the 200 meters in Big Ten history, joining Briana Guillory who accomplished the feat last year.

Mallett won his third 110-meter hurdle title and was named a first-team All-Big Ten member for the third straight outdoor season. Mallett ran a wind-aided 13.24 in the event for his third Big Ten title, joining Charles Brookins (220-yard low hurdles), Frank Cuhel (220-yard low hurdles), Pat McGhee (400-meter hurdles), Edward Gordon (Long Jump), and Matt Byers (javelin throw) as the only Hawkeyes to win three Big Ten titles.

Tausaga became Iowa’s first Big Ten champion in the women’s discus throw. Tausaga’s longest throw measured 55 meters as she set the facility record. She is one of two freshmen ranked in the top 15 in the nation.

Tuufuli earned his second straight second-team All-Big Ten honor, finishing runner-up in the men’s discus throw with a mark of 61.19 meters.

Thomas registered her best long jump finish at the Big Ten Championships. The junior finished second, five spots ahead of her 2016 finish. She recorded a mark of 6.32 meters, an outdoor best.

The men’s 4×100 meter relay of Brissett, Wilson, Thompson, and Mallett finished second in the race to be named to the All-Big Ten second team. They posted a time of 39.75.

In addition, senior Avery Meyers and sophomore Andrea Shine were named Iowa’s Sportsmanship Award winners.

The Hawkeyes compete in the NCAA West Regional in Austin, Texas, May 25-27.

Brittany Brown
Aaron Mallett
Laulauga Tausaga

Christian Brissett
Collin Hofacker
Reno Tuufuli
Jahisha Thomas
Brendan Thompson