Hawkeyes Trounce Wildcats in Evanston

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Fight For Iowa | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — January 2018 | Complete Results (PDF)

EVANSTON, Ill. — The University of Iowa swimming and diving team won 18-of-32 events en route to a Big Ten win over Northwestern on Saturday afternoon at the Norris Aquatic Center. The Hawkeye men won, 194-101, while the women fell to the Wildcats, 163.5-134.5. 

34535The quartet of Kenneth Mende, Daniel Swanepoel, Jerzy Twarowski, and Joe Myhre won the 200-yard medley relay to give the Hawkeyes the early advantage, touching in at 1:29.54. Forrest White, Weston Credit, Michal Brzus, and Jack Smith finished second in the event at 1:30.40. 
Three Hawkeye men won multiple individual events — Twarowski, Myhre, and Mende. 
Twarowski locked a 48.23 NCAA “B” qualifying time to win the 100 fly. He also won the 200 fly with a time of 1:49.54. Myhre won two events — the 50 free (20.50) and 100 free (44.87) — while Mende won the 100 back, clocking in at 48.73 and 200 back, touching in at 1:46.57. Sophomore Forrest White finished second in the 100 back, while posting a season-best with a time of 50.28. 
Smith won the 200 free, touching in at 1:40.39; senior Thomas Rathbun would finish second in 1:40.97. 
Senior Chris Dawson won the 500 free with a time of 4:34.17, before sophomore Michael Tenney won the 200 IM. Tenney posted a season and career-best with a time of 1:51.50 in the event. 
In the 1,000 free, junior Ben Colin (9:33.36), freshman Tom Schab (9:39.22), and senior Logan Samuelson (9:44.40) finished 2-3-4. Colin’s time is a season and career-best. 
In the diving well, junior Will Brenner and senior Matt Mauser finished 1-2 off the 1-meter springboard. Brenner posted an NCAA Zone Standard score of 327.00, while Mauser dove to a zone-standard 324.75. Freshman Anton Hoherz posted an NCAA Zone Standard score of 256.63 to win the 3-meter. 
Closing out the action on the men’s side, Smith, Myhre, Brzus, and Matt Kamin won the 400-free relay, touching in at 2:58.76. 
Sophomore Hannah Burvill won the 200 free and 500 free, touching in at 1:49.63 to win the 200, before posting a 5:00.69 time in the 500. Senior Carly O’Brien finished runner-up in the 200 in 1:50.67, and she went on to win the 100 free with a time of 51.15. 
Senior Shea Hoyt and freshman Lexi Horner finished 1-2 in the 100 breast. Hoyt posted a time of 1:04.40, while Horner touched in at 1:06.98. 
Junior Kelly McNamara won the 100 fly with a time of 55.51. Senior Mekenna Scheitlin and Jo Jekel finished 2-3 behind McNamara in the event. 
In the diving well, freshman Jayah Mathews finished second off the 1-meter springboard with a score of 261.60, while senior Morgan Rafferty was the runner-up off the 3-meter with a score of 273.53. 
The quartet of Samantha Sauer, O’Brien, Allyssa Fluit, and Burvill won the 400-free relay with a time of 3:25.94.
The Hawkeyes travel to South Bend, Indiana, for the Shamrock Invitational, hosted by Notre Dame, from Jan. 26-27.
For an inside look at the Iowa swimming and diving program and access to exclusive coverage, “like” Iowa Swimming and Diving on Facebook and follow @IowaSwimDive on Twitter and @hawkeyeswimdive on Instagram.