Kurtz, Wisnieski Awarded Postgraduate Scholarship

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly — May 2018 | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch – 2017-18

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Hawkeye seniors Sarah Kurtz (softball) and Jon Wisnieski (football) were chosen as the University of Iowa’s recipients of the annual Big Ten Conference Postgraduate Scholarship. Two student-athletes from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based primarily on academic achievements.

Kurtz is a senior member of the Iowa softball program and will earn her degree in May, 2018.  The native of Herndon, Virginia, (Herndon HS) has been Iowa’s third baseman for the past four years. She has started in 166 games as a Hawkeye. In her final season, Kurtz was an instrumental part of the Iowa defense, owning a .932 fielding percentage at third base and playing a role in 35 putouts this season. She was named Academic All-Big Ten in 2016 and 2017.  Kurtz will earn a degree in Sports and Recreation Management with a minor in Education. 

Wisnieski was a senior member of the Hawkeye football program in 2018 after earning his degree in May, 2017.  The native of West Des Moines, Iowa, (Dowling Catholic HS) saw action in several games but had no statistics.  Wisnieski earned his degree in business and earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in 2017, along with being named the recipient of the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award.  Injuries forced Wisnieski to miss two complete seasons (2014 and 2016).  He joined the Iowa program after earning elite all-state first team honors as a prep senior.
Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.  
The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.  
The complete list of 2017-18 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Nicole Choquette, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Tony Zea, Men’s Track & Field
Jack Griffith, Men’s Soccer 
Sam Lisy, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Sarah Kurtz, Softball
Jon Wisnieski, Football
Kristen Confroy, Women’s Basketball
Alexander Leto, Men’s Track & Field
Erin Finn, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Patrick Ransford, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Michigan State
Michael Dube, Men’s Tennis 
Morgan Johnson, Women’s Track & Field
Joel Gagnon, Men’s Gymnastics
Lindsey Smits, Women’s Track & Field
Allison Peterson, Women’s Soccer
Chris Weber, Football
Jason Ipsarides, Wrestling
Lyndsey Lafitte, Women’s Lacrosse
Ohio State
Zhesi Li, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Brayden Seal, Men’s Swimming & Diving 
Penn State
McKayla Mawn, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Matthew McCutcheon, Wrestling
Chris Bals, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Hanna House, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Michael Rexrode, Men’s Lacrosse
Addison Walkowiak, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Tim Guthrie, Men’s Track & Field
Lianna Mack, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field