Track & Field Notebook: Bryan Clay, Mt. SAC, Beach Invitational

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly — April | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19 | Notes (PDF) | Event Schedule (Bryan Clay) | Live Results (Bryan Clay) | Live Stream (Bryan Clay) | Events Schedule (Mt. SAC) | Live Results (Mt. SAC) | Events Schedule (Beach Invite) | Live Results (Beach Invitate)

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa track and field team travels to California this week to compete at the Bryan Clay Invitational (Azusa Pacific), Mount SAC Relays, and the 25th annual Beach Invitational (Long Beach State). A full schedule of events is located at on the track and field schedule page.

Fans can follow the Mt. SAC Relays live results on Live stats and a live sream for the meet are also linked on the Iowa track and field schedule page,, and is posted on the team’s official twitter account @iowaxc_tf.

Junior Jenny Kimbro and senior Tria Simmons recorded career-best heptathlon scores last season at the Bryan Clay Invitational, improving their standings in Iowa’s all-time heptathlon list to second and third, respectively. The duo both surpassed Kathy Gillespie’s score of 5,262 points from 1983. Kimbro tallied 5,523 points, and Simmons tallied 5,398 points.

Senior Dan Soto and sophomore Luke Sampson ran top-10 times last season in the 10,000 meters. Soto ranks fourth (29:39.35) all-time, and Sampson ranks ninth (29:58.47). Senior Chris Douglas won the men’s open 110-meter hurdles. 

Tyree Sorrells won his first career long jump competition at last year’s Beach Invitational with a career best 7.06-meter (23-2) mark.

The University of Iowa men’s and women’s track and field teams are both ranked in the top 25 in the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Week 3 poll. The USTFCCCA ranks both teams at No. 21.

The Hawkeyes have 12 individual marks in the NCAA’s top 16, including the the NCAA women’s discus leader, junior Laulauga Tausaga, the second fastest men’s 1,600-meter relay from freshman Wayne Lawrence Jr., junior Antonio Woodard, junior Collin Hofacker, and senior Mar’yea Harris, and the third farthest discus throw from senior Reno Tuufuli. Iowa is the only team in the NCAA with multiple 400-meter runners under 46 seconds this season.

Top 16 in the NCAA:
1. Laulauga Tausaga – discus (61.74 meters, 202-7)
2. Lawrence, Woodard, Hofacker, Harris – 1,600-meter realy (3:03.10)
3. Reno Tuufuli – discus (62.54, 205-2)
5. Briana Guillory – 400 meters (51.92)
5. Konstadina Spanoudakis – discus (57.95 meters, 190-1)
7. Karayme Bartley – 400 meters (45.83)
9. Matt Manternach – 800 meters (1:47.84)
10. Mar’yea Harris – 400 meters (45.88)
14. Jaylan McConico – 110 hurdles (13.82)
14. Jenny Kimbro – 400 hurdles (58.27)
15. Wayne Lawrence Jr. – 400 meters (45.96)
16. Chris Douglas – 400 hurdles (51.18)

The Hawkeyes are ranked in the top five 34 times in the conference. Five individual Hawkeyes are leading the Big Ten Conference in their respective events, including Karayme Bartley (400 meters), Briana Guillory (400 meters), Jaylan McConico (110 hurdles), Reno Tuufuli (discus), and Laulauga Tausaga (discus). Iowa also holds the fastest men’s 1,600-meter relay from freshman Wayne Lawrence Jr., junior Antonio Woodard, junior Collin Hofacker, and senior Mar’yea Harris.

Top Eight in the Big Ten:
1. Karayme Bartley – 400 meters (45.83)
1. Briana Guillory – 400 meters (51.92)
1. Jaylan McConico – 110 hurdles (13.82)
1. Reno Tuufuli – discus (62.54 meters, 205-2)
1. Lualauga Tausaga – discus (61.74 meters, 202-7)
1. Lawrence, Woodard, Hofacker, Harris – 1,600-meter relay (3:03.10)
2. Mar’yea Harris – 400 meters (45.88)
2. Matt Manternach – 800 meters (1:47.84)
2. Anthony Williams – 110 hurdles (13.86)
2. Chris Douglas – 400 hurdles (51.18)
2. Konstadina Spanoudakis – discus (57.95 meters, 190-1)
3. Nathan Mylenek – 3,000-meter steeplechase (8:55.23)
4. Wayne Lawrence Jr. – 400 meters (45.96)
4. Jenny Kimbro – 100 hurdles (13.53)
4. Chris Douglas – 110 hurdles (13.98)
4. Noah Larrison – 400 hurdles (51.49)
4. Jenny Kimbro – 400 hurdles (58.27)
4. Tria Simmons – high jump (1.76 meters, 5-9 1/4)
4. Kimbro, Weum, Simmons, Wensel – 1,600-meter relay (3:36.32)
5. Raymonte Dow – 400 hurdles (52.14)
5. Williams, Woodard, Hofacker, Harris – 400-meter relay (40.16)
5. Jay Hunt – high jump (2.11 meters, 6-11)
5. Reno Tuufuli – shot put (18.21 meters, 59-9)
5. Laulauga Tausaga – hammer (60.32 meters, 197-11)
6. Antonio Woodard – 200 meters (20.69)
6. Carter Lilly – 800 meters (1:48.95)
6. Kimbro, Laye, Guillory, Chistian – 400-meter relay (45.60)
7. Mallory King – 800 meters (2:07.08)
8. Antonio Woodard – 100 meters (10.49)
8. Tysen VanDraska – 800 meters (1:49.22)
8. Ian Eklin – 10,000 meters (30:10.40)
8. Andrea Shine – 10,000 meters (34:10.24)
8. Amanda Carty – triple jump (12.25 meters, 40-2 1/4)
8. Laulauga Tausaga – shot put (15.95 meters, 52-4)

The men have 27 current athletes on Iowa’s outdoor all-time top 10, led by school-record holders Mar’yea Harris, (400-meters, 800-meter relay, 1,600-meter relay), DeJuan Frye (1,600-meter relay), and Collin Hofacker (1,600-meter relay).

The women have 22 athletes in the top 10 (57 times). Junior Laulauga Tausaga holds the school records in the shot put (17.34 meters, 56-10 3/4) and discus (61.74 meters, 202-7), and senior Briana Guillory ran on the school-record 1,600-meter relay (3:30.97, 2016).

Tausaga is the third Hawkeye to be named Big Ten Athlete of the Week during the outdoor season. Tausaga won the discus at the Sun Angel Classic, recording a 61.74-meter (202-7) throw that leads the NCAA, ranks seventh in the world, and set a new school record. She added another win in the hammer throw, throwing 60.32 meters (197-11), a mark that ranks second all-time at Iowa and fifth this season in the Big Ten.

The Hawkeyes swept the Big Ten Field Athlete of the Week awards in the first week of the outdoor season. Sophomore Konstadina Spanoudakis earned the women’s honor and sophomore Jay Hunt earned the men’s.

Spanoudakis threw 53.41 meters (175-2) in the discus at the Baldy Castillo Invitational. She bettered her third ranked all-time mark on Iowa’s top-10 list by nearly a meter.

Hunt recorded a lifetime best high jump at Arizona State. Hunt’s 2.11-meter (6-11) high jump broke onto the Iowa top-10 all-time list, ranking ninth. He also ranks fifth in the NCAA.

Three Hawkeyes were named Big Ten Athletes of the week during the indoor season, including Tausaga (Feb. 6), Mar’yea Harris (Feb. 6), and Jenny Kimbro (Dec. 12).

The Hawkeyes compete at the Drake Relays on April 25-27 in Des Moines, Iowa. Ticket information is linked on

First Round – Sacramento, Calif. (May 23-25)

For each individual event contested at each of the two Preliminary Round sites, the top 48 declared student-athletes will be accepted into the competition.  For each relay event, the top 24 declared relay teams will be accepted into the competition.  Combined events (Heptathlon and Decathlon), are not contested at the Preliminary Round sites. For combined events (Heptathlon and Decathlon), the top 24 declared student-athletes in each event based on their position on the national descending-order list will be accepted directly into the Championships.

The individual event student-athletes and relay teams accepted into Preliminary Round competition will be announced and posted on the week prior to Preliminary Round competition.

Championship Round – Austin, Texas (June 5-8)
Qualifying to the Championships site is accomplished through performance in the Preliminary Round competition.  Twelve competitors from each individual event and twelve teams from each relay event advance from each Preliminary Round site.  The individual event student-athletes and relay teams accepted into Championships competition based on their performance at Preliminary Round competition will be announced and posted on the week prior to Championships competition.