Jatis, Sharpe Awarded B1G Postgraduate Scholarship

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly – May | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Hawkeye seniors Andy Jatis (men’s track & field) and Sommer Sharpe (women’s track & field) were chosen as the University of Iowa’s recipients of the annual Big Ten Conference Postgraduate Scholarship. Two student-athletes from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based primarily on academic achievements.
Jatis was a three-year letterwinner and pole vaulter for the Iowa track and field team from 2016-18. He owns records in the program’s all-time top 10 list in both indoor and outdoor pole vault, and was a point scorer for the Hawkeyes at the 2017 Big Ten outdoor championships. Jatis is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a member of the USTFCCCA all-academic team. He is set to graduate in 2021 with a degree in pharmacy.
Sharpe was previously awarded the NCAA Women’s Enhancement Graduate Scholarship. The former track and field star won a Drake Relays title in the 400-meter hurdles in 2018. She won a Big Ten bronze medal with the 1,600-meter relay at the 2018 Big Ten Championships and has three personal bests that rank in the program’s all-time top 10. She is a USTFCCCA all-academic team member, and earned her Bachelor of Science, Criminology in May 2019.
Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarships. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, and required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.
The complete list of 2018-19 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Stephanie Abello, Softball
Joseph Haight, Men’s Track & Field
Michael McGinnis, Football 
Grace Withrow, Women’s Basketball
Andy Jatis, Men’s Track & Field 
Sommer Sharpe, Women’s Track & Field
Louis Dubick, Men’s Lacrosse 
Gaby Go, Women’s Cross County/Track & Field
Marleise Emrhein, Field Hockey
Alec Krystek, Men’s Gymnastics
Michigan State
Daniel Chmielewski, Baseball
Ellie Roche, Women’s Swimming & Diving
April Bockin, Women’s Soccer
Alan LeBlang, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Angela Mercurio, Women’s Track & Field
Anton Stephenson, Men’s Gymnastics
William Hofstadter, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Ella Lombard, Women’s Fencing
Ohio State
Joey Bonanno, Men’s Gymnastics
Janelle McClelland, Women’s Gymnastics
Penn State
Jessica Jones, Women’s Gymnastics
Gavin Turner, Men’s Fencing
Alexandra Clarke, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Benjamin Thornton, Wrestling
Sarah Johanek, Women’s Rowing
Brian Shushkovsky, Men’s Soccer
Zander Neuville, Football
Annie Pankowski, Women’s Ice Hockey

FFI footer