Women's Golf Announce Team Awards

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa women’s golf team announced its 2019 team awards, head coach Megan Menzel announced today.

Freshman Manuela Lizarazu was tabbed Iowa’s Player of the Year after leading the Hawkeyes with a stroke average of 75.17. The Bogota, Columbia, native led Iowa with four rounds at-or-below par, two top-10 finishes, and three top-20 finishes. She also posted a low round of 68 to tie for the team lead.

Seniors Shawn Rennegarbe and Kristin Glesne were awarded the Positive Leadership Award, while Rennegarbe also earned the Most Dedicated Award. Rennegarbe finished third on the team with a stroke average of 78.22 and posted the second lowest round with a 69 – a personal best 18-hole score. The senior earned co-medalist honors at the Diane Thomason Invitational for a career best finish and 54-hole score of 221 (+5). Glesne finished second with a 77.74 stroke average and tied the best low round of 68. The San Antonio, Texas, native carded a 54-hole score of 226 (+10) at the Diane Thomason Invitational to finish fourth – a career best finish.

Freshman Dana Lerner took home the Team Player Award. The freshman posted a 78.5 stroke average this season that included a low round of 73. She also notched a top-10 and top-20 finish. The Iron Hawk Award went to junior Sophie Liu. She competed in three events for the Hawkeyes, carding a 79.22 stroke average. After finishing the season with a top-20 finish and two rounds at or below par, sophomore Brett Permann was named Iowa’s Most Improved player.

FFI footer