Marinelli, Stewart Earn Iowa’s B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards

Hawk Talk Monthly – May | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19 | Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Sophomore Alex Marinelli (wrestling) and senior Hannah Stewart (women’s basketball) have been selected as Iowa’s 2019 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. The duo was chosen from Iowa’s list of 2018-19 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winners, which had a representative from each varsity sport.
Marinelli won a Big Ten title and placed seventh at 165 pounds at the 2019 NCAA Championships to earn All-America honors. He finished the season 27-2 overall, leading the team with nine falls and scoring a team-high 77 points in 15 dual matches. The Miamisburg, Ohio, native completed an undefeated regular season for the second straight year, going 9-0 in Big Ten duals and winning the 165-pound title at the Midlands Championships. Marinelli is an Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a NWCA Academic All-American.  

Stewart started all 36 games for the Iowa women’s basketball team, marking the first 36 starts of her career. A 2019 Big Ten All-Tournament Team selection, she registered single-season career highs in every statistical category. The Minot, North Dakota, native registered the first three double-doubles of her career this season, including two in the NCAA Tournament (Mercer, N.C. State). Stewart, a two-year team captain, scored in double figures in 27 contests and pulled down six or more rebounds 24 times.

The Big Ten first awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship honor in 2003. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior, were in good academic standing, and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.
Following is a list of Iowa’s past Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners:
2003       Stuart Waters, Men’s Tennis               
               Kristin Johnson, Softball
2004       Nate Kaeding, Football
               Laura Chipman, Softball
2005       Joe Johnston, Wrestling
               Jennifer Skolaski, Swimming & Diving
2006       Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball
               Liz Grajewski, Women’s Gymnastics
2007       Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball
               Kara Zappone, Field Hockey
2008       Bart van Monsjou, Men’s Tennis
               Brittany Keyes, Rowing
2009       Christian Bierich, Men’s Tennis
               Wendy Ausdemore, Women’s Basketball
2010       A.J. Edds, Football
               Laura Cilek, Women’s Golf
2011       Chris Brant, Men’s Golf 
               Kelsey Cermak, Women’s Basketball
2012       Matt Gatens, Men’s Basketball
               Betsy Flood, Women’s Track & Field
2013       Eric May, Men’s Basketball
               Mareike Schrulle, Women’s Cross Country
2014       James Morris, Football  
               Theairra Taylor, Women’s Basketball
2015       Mark Weisman, Football
               Melissa Dixon, Women’s Basketball
2016       Drew Ott, Football
               Amy Ihm, Women’s Golf
2017       Nicholas Baer, Men’s Basketball
               Sophie Plasteras, Field Hockey
2018       Spencer Lee, Wrestling
               Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball
2019       Alex Marinelli, Wrestling
               Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball

FFI footer