2019 Track & Field Awards Announced

24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2019-20 | Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly

IOWA CITY, Iowa – IOWA CITY, Iowa—Ten Hawkeyes were recognized for outstanding achievement at the 2019 track and field/cross country team banquet Friday night.

Laulauga Tausaga and Mar’yea Harris were named MVPs in track and field. Harris, 14-time All-American, won title as the anchor for the 4×400 relay at the indoor and outdoor Big Ten Championships.

Tausaga is the reigning 2019 NCAA discus champion. She is a six-time All-American and set the school record for the indoor weight throw and shot put, as well as the outdoor the hammer and discus. She was named Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Big Ten Championships and USTFCCCA Midwest Field Athlete of the Year. Tausaga also competed in the women’s discus finals at the World Championships, finishing in the top five.

Leah Kralovetz and Nathan Mylenek took home Most Outstanding Cross Country Team Member. For the Track and Field team, Amanda Howe, Wayne Lawrence, and James Carter Jr. earned Outstanding Freshmen.
Lawrence clinched his first All-America and All-Big Ten honor, and was a part of the winning 1,600-meter relay at the Big Ten Outdoor Championship.

Mylenek earned All-Big Ten and All-Region for the second straight year. He finished the season as the top Hawkeye finisher for 11-straight races. He finished 85th at the NCAA Cross Country Championships.

All-Big Ten and All-Americans senior Jenny Kimbro and Chris Douglas were awarded the Jimmy Grant Award. Kimbro placed first in the 60-meter hurdles at the 2019 Big Ten Indoor Championships. Kimbro and Douglas each earned 2019 Big Ten Sportsmanship Awards. Douglas earned himself a Big Ten Championship in the 400-Meter Hurdles.

The Silver Hawk Award went to Briana Guillory and Karayme Bartley. Guillory resides on five of Iowa’s All-Time Top 10 lists. She is a seven-time All-American and three-time All-Big Ten recipient. Bartley earned his first all- American honor in the 200 meters and the 4×400 relay.

A complete list of award winners is below. The Hawkeyes open the 2019-20 Indoor Track and Field season hosting the Jimmy Grant Invitational on Saturday. The weight throw begins at 9 a.m. at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex. Field events begin at 1 p.m. at the UI Rec Building. Running events follow at 4:30 p.m.

Keatinge-Cretzmeyer Award
Andrea Shine
Matt Manternach
Most Improved
Jay Hunt
Josh Braverman
Konstadina Spanoudakis
Taylor Arco
Outstanding Freshmen
Amanda Howe
Wayne Lawrence
James Carter Jr.
Teammate Award
Nia Britt
Antonio Woodard

Inspirational Award
Cooper Koenig
Tria Simmons
Silver Hawk
Briana Guillory
Karayme Bartley
John Raffensperger Dedication Award
Noah Larrison
Talia Buss
Jimmy Grant Award
Jenny Kimbro
Chris Douglas
Track MVP
Laulauga Tausaga
Mar’yea Harris
Cross Country MVPs
Leah Kralovetz
Nathan Mylenek