7 Hawkeyes Named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Seven members of the University of Iowa swimming and diving team were named College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-Americans, it was announced Tuesday by the association.

Three Hawkeyes – senior Kelsey Drake and juniors Sam Tamborski and Mallory Jump — were first-team Scholar All-Americans. This honor recognizes students who achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and were invited to their respective national championship.

Seniors Daniel Swanepoel and Jonatan Posligua and juniors Anze Fers Erzen and Mateusz Arndt were honorable-mention Scholar All-Americans. These student-athletes have achieved a GPA of 3.50 or higher and achieved a “B” time standard or competed at an NCAA Zone Diving qualifier.

Drake, an industrial engineering major, competed in three events at the 2021 NCAA Championships, swimming in the 100 and 200 fly and 200 IM. The Marion, Iowa, native finished her career as the school record holder in the 200 fly (1:55.89), while posting the second-fastest time in the 100 fly (53.12) and third-best in the 200 IM (1:59.41). It is the fourth Scholar All-America honor of Drake’s career.

Tamborski, a political science major, qualified for her third straight NCAA Championships during her junior season after finishing 10th off the 3-meter at the NCAA Zone meet. The Castle Rock, Colorado, native currently ranks fifth in school history off the 3-meter with a score of 355.05. The honor is the second of Tamborski’s career.

Jump, a speech, language, and hearing sciences major, competed in three events – 100 fly, 200 fly and 200 IM — at the NCAA Championships in her first season as a Hawkeye. The St. Charles, Illinois, native tied for 22nd in the 100 fly at the NCAA meet with a school-record time of 52.30 seconds.

Swanepoel, a mechanical engineering major, earned his second career CSCAA Scholar All-America honor after posting NCAA “B” qualifying times in the 100 and 200 breaststroke at the Big Ten Championships. The Cape Town, South Africa, native scored in both events at the 2021 Big Ten Championships.

Posligua, an astronomy major, earned his fourth career CSCAA Scholar All-America honor after qualifying for the NCAA Zone meet off the 1-meter springboard and platform. The Guayaquil, Ecuador, major scored in all three diving events at the 2021 Big Ten Championships.

Arndt, a health and human physiology major, earned his third straight CSCAA Scholar All-America honor after swimming NCAA “B” qualifying standards in the 200 free and 500 free. The Gdynia, Poland, native led the team in three events – 200 free, 500 free and 1,000 free – during the 2021 season.

Fers Erzen, a health and human physiology major, earned his second CSCAA Scholar All-America distinction after swimming “B” cuts in three events – 100 back, 200 back and 400 IM – during the 2021 season. The Ljbljana, Slovenia, native also was a member of Iowa’s record-setting 200-medley relay last season.

Collectively, both the men’s and women’s teams were named a CSCAA Scholar All-America team during the 2021 spring semester.

CSCAA First-Team Scholar All-Americans
Kelsey Drake
Mallory Jump
Sam Tamborski

CSCAA Honorable Mention Scholar All-Americans
Mateusz Arndt
Anze Fers Erzen
Jonatan Posligua
Daniel Swanepoel