14 Hawkeyes Headed to USATF Championships in Eugene

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa track and field is sending 14 entries (10 men, four women) to the USATF Championships and one entry in the men’s U20 Division (Sean Smith, hammer throw) June 23-26 at Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon. 

Sophomore and three-time All-American LaSarah Hargrove leads the women with a pair of entries in the 100 meters (11.20) and 200 meters (22.72). Hargrove ran 11.20 in the 100 meters at the NCAA Championships two weeks ago to take down Hawkeye great Brittany Brown’s school record. Brown will also be at the Championships, doubling in the 100 and 200 meters. She enters as one of six women in the United States to run sub-22 seconds in the 200 meters this year (21.99).

Senior All-American Erin Dowd (56.77) and sophomore All-American Paige Magee (57.06) will each compete in the 400-meter hurdles. Both athletes competed at the NCAA Championships, and Dowd earned Second Team All-America honors with a 16th-place finish. 

The Hawkeye men have three athletes competing in the 110-meter hurdles including senior All-American Josh Braverman (13.55) and Second Team indoor All-Americans sophomore Grant Conway (13.66) and junior Gratt Reed (13.67). In addition, former Hawkeyes Aaron Mallett and Jamal Britt will both compete to make the national team. Four-time All-American Julien Gillum will compete in the 400-meter hurdles (50.26). In addition to the Big Ten Champion Gillum, former Hawkeye All-American Austin Lietz will compete in the 400-meter hurdles.

In the men’s 400 meters, the Hawkeyes have a pair of entries. Sophomore and indoor NCAA 400-meter runner-up Jenoah McKiver (44.74) and freshman All-American Everett Steward (45.94) both qualified. 2012 NCAA 800-meter runner up Erik Sowinski will run in the 800 meters to try and make yet another World Championships.

In field events, junior and two-time All-American James Carter, Jr. will compete in both long jump (7.93m) and triple jump (16.12m). Senior First Team All-American and school-record holder Nik Curtiss will throw the shot put (20.04m) and sophomore First Team All-American Jordan Johnson will compete in discus (59.52m). Former Hawkeye and 2019 women’s discus NCAA Champion Laulauga Tausaga-Collins will compete in discus and enters with the third-best mark in the country (64.21m). In the U20 Division, freshman Sean Smith will throw the hammer (58.66m). 

Hawkeye action begins at 2:30 p.m. CT on Thursday with Smith in the U20 hammer throw and picks back up at 6:50 p.m. CT with Dowd and Magee in the 400-meter hurdles.

List of Hawkeye entries:

Women’s 100m: LaSarah Hargrove
Women’s 200m: LaSarah Hargrove
Men’s 400m: Jenoah McKiver, Everett Steward
Men’s 110m Hurdles: Josh Braverman, Grant Conway, Gratt Reed
Men’s 400m Hurdles: Julien Gillum
Women’s 400m Hurdles: Erin Dowd, Paige Magee
Men’s Long Jump: James Carter, Jr.
Men’s Triple Jump: James Carter, Jr.
Men’s Shot Put: Nik Curtiss
Men’s Discus: Jordan Johnson
Men’s U20 Hammer: Sean Smith