XC Notebook: Gans Creek Classic

The University of Iowa men’s and women’s cross country teams continue their season with the Gans Creek Classic in Columbia, Missouri on Friday. The meet is hosted by the University of Missouri and will be held at the Gans Creek Cross Country Course. The men’s 8,000-meter race begins at 9:00am CT, while the women’s 6,000-meter race kicks off at 9:45am. Live results will be found at PrimeTime Timing.

The University of Iowa men’s cross country team is ranked No. 7 in this week’s USTFCCCA Midwest Region poll. Iowa moved up one spot from last week’s poll. The Hawkeyes are the second-highest ranked Big Ten team in the Midwest top 15, with Illinois ranked No. 4. Minnesota is the only other Big Ten team ranked in the region, coming in at No. 11. Seven additional Big Ten teams are ranked in their respective regions, including Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The University of Iowa men’s and women’s cross country teams competed at the Redbird Invite on September 16th. In the women’s 6,000-meter race, freshman Ana Barroso made her 6k debut and was the top Hawkeye finisher. She crossed the line in 22:55.1, good for 22nd overall. Senior Maggie Gutwein finished in second for Iowa, with a time of 23:47.9. Sophomore Kaitlin Knape (24:07.1), freshman Aleah Tenpas (24:27.0), and sophomore Chloe Skidmore (24:53.6) also made their 6,000-meter debuts and rounded out the top five finishers for the Hawkeyes. Iowa had an average time of 24:02, spread of 1:58, and earned 185 points (6th).

In the men’s 8,000-meter race, Iowa was paced by the freshman duo of Nathan Harbert (26:02.8) and Eli Naumann (26:15.4). Harbert and Naumann made their 8k debuts and finished 27th and 34th, respectively. Junior Kal Lewis finished 3rd for the Hawkeyes, crossing the line in 26:22.7. Freshman Brayden Burnett (26:33.0) and sophomore Eli Ward (28:12.0) wrapped up the top five for Iowa. The Hawkeyes finished with a team total of 179 points and tied for 7th.

Following the season opener, the Hawkeyes will have six regular season meets including a pair of meets that will preview the NCAA postseason sites. This week’s Gans Creek Classic (Sept. 30) at the Gans Creek Cross Country Course in Columbia, Missouri, will give the Hawkeyes a look at the course that will play host to the NCAA Midwest Regional. The Weis-Crockett Invite (Oct. 15) at OSU Cross Country Course will serve as a preview meet of the 2022 NCAA Championships (Nov. 19) site in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The Big Ten Championships will be hosted by Michigan in Ann Arbor on Oct. 28 and the NCAA Midwest Regional will take place Nov. 11 back in Columbia, Missouri. Teams and student-athletes that advance past the Midwest Regional will compete at the 2022 NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Nick Trattner became the first underclassmen in over a decade to lead the Hawkeye men for the first two races of the 2021 season (Jeff Thode in 2010). Thode is one of the most decorated Hawkeyes in history, recording two individual national championship appearances and one All-America honor in 2010, placing 30th. Trattner finished third at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite and sixth at the Dirksen-Greeno Invite. Trattner added a ninth-place finish on Oct. 1 at the Gans Creek Classic, finishing behind senior teammate Noah Healy. Trattner led the Hawkeyes again at the Bradley Pink Classic, finishing eighth to log his fourth top-10 finish of the season. Trattner led the Hawkeyes for the fourth time at the Big Ten Championships with a top-45 finish.

Junior Nick Trattner returns for his third cross country season with the Hawkeyes. In 2021, Trattner earned four top-10 finishes and held an 8K personal record of 24:14.5. He placed second at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite with a 6K collegiate-best of 18:22.1. Fellow senior Konnor Sommer competed in five of six races last year and posted season bests in the 8K at the Bradley Pink Classic (25:17.1) and 10K at the NCAA Midwest Regional (33:32.31). Junior Jack Pendergast was one of six Hawkeyes to compete in all six races last season. He was Iowa’s third finisher at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite (18:46.7). Junior Kal Lewis also competed in all six races last year and was Iowa’s second finisher at the NCAA Midwest Regional, placing 52nd (31:38.71). Junior Max Murphy returns from injury after finishing third for the Hawkeyes at the 2020 Big Ten Championships.

Junior Kelli Tosic returns for her third season with the Hawkeyes. In 2021, Tosic was Iowa’s top finisher in the first three races of the season. She placed 11th at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite (14:23.4). Junior Brooke McKee competed in five of six races last year and was Iowa’s top finisher at the B1G Championships (21:53.7). Senior Maddie Block posted season bests at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite (15:48.3) and 6,000-meter Gans Creek Invite (22:56.9). Senior Emma Gordon was one of four Hawkeyes to compete in all six races in 2021. She ran a collegiate best at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite (14:35.7). Junior Amber Aesoph posted a season-best 6K time at the 2021 NCAA Midwest Regional (22:21.20).

The University of Iowa cross country team added 14 student-athletes to its 2022 roster. Seven men join the Hawkeyes: Brayden Burnett, Nate Harbert, Carson Houg, Hayden Kuhn, Eli Naumann, Will Ryan, and Miles Sheppard. On the women’s side, the seven new Hawkeyes include Ana Barroso, Jalyssa Blazek, Rowan Boulter, Gabby Cortez, Lily Johannes, Ellie Rathe, and Aleah Tenpas.

Of the 32 women on Iowa’s roster, 23 hail from the Hawkeye State. Seven additional states, including Illinois (2), Wisconsin (2), Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Kansas, and Texas are represented. On the men’s side, ten of the 19 members are from Iowa. Illinois is represented by five student-athletes, while Minnesota is the home of two Hawkeyes. Colorado and New York are each represented with one student-athlete.

The Hawkeyes head to Stillwater, Okla. for the Weis-Crockett Invite on October 15.

For an inside look at the Iowa cross country program and to access exclusive coverage, “like” The University of Iowa Cross Country and Track & Field Facebook page and follow the Hawks on Twitter (@IowaXC_TF) and Instagram (@iowaxctf). Follow live results at hawkeyesports.com/tracklive.