XC Notebook: Weis-Crockett Invite

University of Iowa men’s and women’s cross country teams continue their season with the Weis-Crockett Invite this Saturday in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The meet is hosted by Oklahoma State University and will be held at The Greiner Family OSU Cross Country Course. The men’s 8,000-meter race begins at 8:30am CT, while the women’s 6,000-meter race kicks off at 9:20am. Live results will be found at PrimeTime Timing.

The University of Iowa men’s cross country team is ranked No. 6 in the latest USTFCCCA Midwest Region poll. Iowa moved up one spot from the previous poll. The Hawkeyes are the second-highest ranked Big Ten team in the Midwest top 15, with Illinois ranked No. 4. Minnesota is the only other Big Ten team ranked in the region, coming in at No. 12. Seven additional Big Ten teams are ranked in their respective regions, including Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The University of Iowa women’s cross country team is ranked No. 13 in the latest USTFCCCA Midwest Region poll. The Hawkeyes join Illinois, Northwestern, Minnesota, and Nebraska in the top 15. Iowa is one of 12 Big Ten teams ranked in their respective regions including Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The University of Iowa men’s and women’s cross country teams competed at the Gans Creek Classic in Columbia, Missouri on September 30th. In the women’s 6,000-meter race, Emma Gordon was the top Hawkeye finisher (20:53.6). Her time was good for 14th overall and is 10th best all-time at Iowa. Junior Brooke McKee also recorded her best time, finishing in second for the Hawkeyes with a time of 21:20.6. Junior Kelli Tosic had another strong showing, crossing the line in 21:31.3. Rounding out the top five were personal bests from freshman Jalyssa Blazek (21:45.0) and senior Maddie Block (21:49.4). Juniors Abby Ryon (22:18.4), Ellie Twedt (22:26.1), Claire Edmondson (22:57.9), sophomore Kaitlin Knape (23:49.6), as well as freshmen Rowan Boulter (22:42.5) and Aleah Tenpas (23:18.8) set personal bests. Iowa finished in seventh out of 24 teams, earning 204 points, an average of 21:28.0, and a spread of 55.9.

The men’s 8,000-meter race kicked off the event, with Max Murphy (23:44.8) and Nick Trattner (23:56.8) setting personal bests and leading the Hawkeyes. Murphy finished fourth, while Trattner crossed the line in 12th. Senior Konnor Sommer came in third for Iowa, clocking a career best (24:37.7). Sophomore Ian Geisler ran his personal best (24:46.8) and freshman Miles Sheppard (24:49.8) rounded out the top five for Iowa. Nine Hawkeye men set personal records at the event, including Murphy, Trattner, Sommer, Geisler, sophomores Yohana Yual (24:59.0), Aidan King (25:14.8), Eli Ward (26:29.4), as well as freshmen Elijah Naumann (25:39.7) and Brayden Burnett (25:41.2). The team finished sixth out of 22 teams, recording 188 points, an average of 24:23.2 and a spread of 1:05.1.

This week’s Weis-Crockett Invite (Oct. 15) at OSU Cross Country Course will serve as a preview meet of the 2022 NCAA Championships (Nov. 19) site in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The Big Ten Championships will be hosted by Michigan in Ann Arbor on Oct. 28 and the NCAA Midwest Regional will take place Nov. 11 back in Columbia, Missouri. Teams and student-athletes that advance past the Midwest Regional will compete at the 2022 NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Nick Trattner became the first underclassmen in over a decade to lead the Hawkeye men for the first two races of the 2021 season (Jeff Thode in 2010). Thode is one of the most deco­rated Hawkeyes in history, recording two individual national championship appearances and one All-America honor in 2010, placing 30th. Trattner finished third at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite and sixth at the Dirksen-Greeno Invite. Trattner added a ninth-place finish on Oct. 1 at the Gans Creek Classic, finishing behind senior teammate Noah Healy. Trattner led the Hawkeyes again at the Bradley Pink Classic, finishing eighth to log his fourth top-10 finish of the season. Trattner led the Hawkeyes for the fourth time at the Big Ten Championships with a top-45 finish.

Junior Nick Trattner returns for his third cross country season with the Hawkeyes. In 2021, Trattner earned four top-10 finishes and held an 8K personal record of 24:14.5. This year, he has been a top two Hawkeye finisher in both races he has competed in. Sophomore Max Murphy has returned and through two races, has landed on the top 10 all-time best performers list for both the 6K and 8K. Senior Konnor Sommer competed in five of six races last year and posted season bests in the 8K at the Bradley Pink Classic (25:17.1) and 10K at the NCAA Midwest Regional (33:32.31). Junior Jack Pendergast was one of six Hawkeyes to compete in all six races last season. He was Iowa’s third finisher at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite (18:46.7). Junior Kal Lewis also competed in all six races last year and was Iowa’s second finisher at the NCAA Midwest Regional, placing 52nd (31:38.71).

Senior Emma Gordon was one of four Hawkeyes to compete in all six races in 2021. Gordon has competed in three races this year, pacing the Hawkeyes in each of them. Junior Kelli Tosic returns for her third season with the Hawkeyes. Tosic has been a top three finisher for Iowa in each of her three races this year. Junior Brooke McKee competed in five of six races last year and was Iowa’s top finisher at the B1G Championships (21:53.7). Senior Maddie Block posted season bests at the 2021 Hawkeye Invite (15:48.3) and 6,000-meter Gans Creek Invite (22:56.9). Junior Amber Aesoph posted a season-best 6K time at the 2021 NCAA Midwest Regional (22:21.20). Freshman Jalyssa Blazek has posted top five finishes in each of her three races this fall.

The University of Iowa cross country team added 14 student-athletes to its 2022 roster. Seven men join the Hawkeyes: Brayden Burnett, Nate Harbert, Carson Houg, Hayden Kuhn, Eli Naumann, Will Ryan, and Miles Sheppard. On the women’s side, the seven new Hawkeyes include Ana Barroso, Jalyssa Blazek, Rowan Boulter, Gabby Cortez, Lily Johannes, Ellie Rathe, and Aleah Tenpas.

Of the 32 women on Iowa’s roster, 23 hail from the Hawkeye State. Seven additional states, including Illinois (2), Wisconsin (2), Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Kansas, and Texas are represented. On the men’s side, ten of the 19 members are from Iowa. Illinois is represented by five student-athletes, while Minnesota is the home of two Hawkeyes. Colorado and New York are each represented with one student-athlete.

The Hawkeyes head to Champaign, Ill. for the Illini Open on Friday, October, 21.

For an inside look at the Iowa cross country program and to access exclusive coverage, “like” The University of Iowa Cross Country and Track & Field Facebook page and follow the Hawks on Twitter (@IowaXC_TF) and Instagram (@iowaxctf). Follow live results at hawkeyesports.com/tracklive.