Hawkeyes Claim 3 Soldier Salute Titles

CORALVILLE, Iowa – Three unattached University of Iowa women’s wrestlers claimed titles at the inaugural Soldier Salute. The Hawkeyes finished with eight medalists at the open tournament.

Sterling Dias defeated teammate Emilie Gonzalez, 6-0, to win the 101-pound bracket. Felicity Taylor won via a, 10-0, technical fall against Aleeah Gould of Army WCAP to claim the title at 116 pounds. Reese Larramendy won a tile winning, 7-0, against Army WCAP’s Brenda Reyna at 141 pounds.

Emilie Gonzalez finished in second place at 101 pounds after falling to Dias. Briana Gonzalez won a, 6-0, decision against Mia Palumbo of Iowa Wesleyan to finish second at 109 pounds. Ava Bayless finished in third after falling, 8-7, to Tiffin University’s Jenavi Alejandro.

Bella Mir finished in second at 155 pounds after being pinned by Latifah McBryde of Life University. Kylie Welker injury defaulted to Tristan Kelly (Army WCAP) and would finish in second at 170 pounds.

Iowa is competing unattached in 2022-23. Iowa announced in September 2021 it would become the first Division I Power Five school to add women’s wrestling. The Hawkeyes begin competing in 2023-24.

Finals Results

Emile Gonzalez – 101 LBS – Second Place
Sterling Dias (Unattached) dec. Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached), 6-0

Sterling Dias – 101 LBS – First Place
Sterling Dias (Unattached) dec. Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached), 6-0

Felicity Taylor – 116 LBS – First Place
Felicity Taylor (Unattached) tech. fall Aleeah Gould (Army WCAP), 10-0

Reese Larramendy – 141 pounds – First Place
Reese Larramendy (Unattached) dec. Brenda Reyna (Army WCAP), 7-0


Round Robin Results

Brianna Gonzalez – 109 LBS – Second Place
Brianna Gonzalez (Unattached) dec. Mia Palumbo (Iowa Wesleyan), 6-0

Ava Bayless – 109 LBS – Third Place
Jenavi Alejandro (Tiffin University) dec. Ava Bayless (Unattached), 8-7

Bella Mir – 155 LBS – Second Place
Latifah McBryde (Life University) pinned Bella Mir (Unattached), 4:07

Kylie Welker – 170 LBS – Second Place
Tristan Kelly (Army WCAP) inj. default Kylie Welker (Unattached), 0:31
Tristan Kelly (Army WCAP) MFF Kylie Welker (Unattached), MFF