3 Hawkeyes Win Titles at Bearcat Open

LEBANON, Illinois – Three unattached University of Iowa women’s wrestlers – Sterling Dias (101), Ava Bayless (109), and Ella Schmit (143) – claimed titles on Sunday at the Bearcat Open.

All five unattached Hawkeyes finished as medalists at the open tournament. The Hawkeye wrestlers outscored their opponents, 162-26, and had five pins and 11 technical falls.

Dias opened the tournament pinning Kristy Travis of Tiffin University in 21 seconds. She then defeated teammate Emilie Gonzalez, 4-1 in the semifinals. Dias claimed the 101-pound title with a 11-0 tech. fall over McKendree’s Lizette Rodriguez.

Gonzalez defeated Odelia Lopez of Schreiner University via tech fall before pinning Sacred Heart’s Aaliyah Payne-Parris in 3:26 to set up the semifinal match against Dias. On the backside of the bracket Gonzalez used a tech. fall over Isabella Morales of Colorado Mesa and a decision over unattached Rianne Murphy to place third.

At 109 pounds Bayless used three straight tech. falls outscoring her opponents 31-0 to put herself in finals. Facing Kendra Ryan of North Central College, Bayless trailed 4-3 before scoring with 12 seconds remaining to claim the title, 5-4.

Schmit reached the 143-pound finals by defeated Erika Novak (Hiram College) and Serena Cervantes (Schreiner University) both via tech. fall and then pinning London Houston of North Central College in 1:02. She defeated Riley Aamold of North Central College, 14-2, to claim the title.

After getting pinned in the semifinals Bella Mir won two matches on the backside to finish third. She finished her tournament with two pins and two tech. falls.

Iowa is competing unattached in 2022-23. Iowa announced in September 2021 it would become the first Division I Power Five school to add women’s wrestling. The Hawkeyes begin competing in 2023-24.

Sterling Dias – 101 LBS – First Place
Sterling Dias (Unattached) pinned Kristy Travis (Tiffin University), 0:21
Sterling Dias (Unattached) dec. Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached), 4-1
Sterling Dias (Unattached) tech. fall Lizette Rodriguez (McKendree University), 11-0

Emile Gonzalez – 101 LBS – Third Place
Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached) tech. fall Odelia Lopez (Schreiner University), 10-0
Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached) pinned Aaliyah Payne-Parris (Sacred Heart), 3:26
Sterling Dias (Unattached) dec. Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached), 4-1
Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached) tech. fall Isabella Morales (Colorado Mesa), 10-0
Emilie Gonzalez (Unattached) dec. Rianne Murphy (Unattached), 12-12

Ava Bayless – 109 LBS – First Place
Ava Bayless (Unattached) tech. fall Elizah Leonard (North Central College), 11-0
Ava Bayless (Unattached) tech. fall Samantha Kruize (McKendree University), 10-0
Ava Bayless (Unattached) tech. fall Angelina Graff (North Central College), 10-0
Ava Bayless (Unattached) dec. Kendra Ryan (North Central College), 5-4

Ella Schmit – 143 LBS – First Place
Ella Schmit (Unattached) tech. fall Erika Novak (Hiram College), 10-0
Ella Schmit (Unattached) tech. fall Serena Cervantes (Schreiner University), 10-0
Ella Schmit (Unattached) pinned London Houston (North Central College), 1:02
Ella Schmit (Unattached) tech. fall over Riley Aamold (North Central College), 14-2

Bella Mir – 155 LBS – Third Place
Bella Mir (Unattached) pinned Megan Vondrasek (Adrian College), 0:39
Bella Mir (Unattached) tech. fall Sierra Pienkowski (Carthage College), 10-0
Madison Sandquist (Sacred Heart) pinned Bella Mir (Unattached), 1:40
Bella Mir (Unattached) pinned Jordan Johnston (Schreiner University), 1:48
Bella Mir (Unattached) tech. fall Shelby Ottum (North Central College), 10-0