Hawkeyes Wrap Up Competition at B1G Championships

MADISON, Wis. – University of Iowa men’s and women’s cross country opened postseason competition on Friday at the Big Ten Championships in Madison, Wisconsin.

The men’s 8,000-meter race started the day. The Hawkeyes earned 258 points and finished 10th overall.

Junior Max Murphy was Iowa’s leader, crossing the line in 25:21.3 – good for 34th overall. Senior Jack Pendergast scored for the fourth time this season, finishing in 26:01.1. Sophomore Brayden Burnett clocked a 26:03.7-time to finish third amongst Hawkeye runners – the highest placement of his career. Junior Ian Geisler (26:09.8) and sophomore Will Ryan (26:11.3) rounded out scoring for the Hawkeyes.

Wisconsin’s Bob Liking won the individual title for the third consecutive year, helping the Badgers clinch the team title with 19 points.

On the women’s side, the Hawkeyes placed 14th with 355 points in the 6,000-meter race.

Senior Abby Ryon led the charge for Iowa for the first time this season, posting a 22:49.3 mark. Fellow senior Amber Aesoph was right behind her and crossed the line in 22:52.7. Sophomore Jalyssa Blazek made her Big Ten Championship debut and finished in 22:57.6. Senior Alli Bookin-Nosbisch (23:10.4) and sophomore Aleah Tenpas (23:33.1) wrapped up the top five for the Hawkeyes.

“Abby had a break out race for us today,” Iowa assistant distance coach Shayla Houlihan said. “She is one of the most dedicated athletes and I am incredibly happy to see her leading this team on and off the course. We had a conservative start and it put us at a deficit early on that was hard to come back from,” Houlihan said of the women’s team. “We will be looking for a more aggressive start at regionals to set us up for a position in the field that we are more deserving of. We have learned a lot about each other as the other season has progressed.”

Michigan State claimed the women’s title with 46 points, while Ohio State’s Addie Engel went back-to-back as the individual champion.

UP NEXT: The Hawkeyes prepare for the NCAA Midwest Regional meet in Stillwater, Oklahoma, on Nov. 10.

Men’s 8,000-meters
34. Max Murphy – 25:21.3
61. Jack Pendergast – 26:01.1
65. Brayden Burnett – 26:03.7
70. Ian Geisler – 26:09.8
72. Will Ryan – 26:11.3
73. Aidan King – 26:12.7
80. Luke Knepp – 26:24.3
85. Miles Wilson – 26:29.1
101. Carson Houg – 26:49.8
115. Yohana Yual – 27:12.0
121. Nate Harbert – 27:43.9

Women’s 6,000-meters
68. Abby Ryon – 22:49.3
72. Amber Aesoph – 22:52.7
80. Jalyssa Blazek – 22:57.6
89. Alli Bookin-Nosbisch – 23:10.4
104. Aleah Tenpas – 23:33.1
108. Grace Bookin-Nosbisch – 23:42.2
111. Rowan Boulter – 23:46.3
116. Cameron Kalaway – 23:52.6
118. Kelli Tosic – 23:53.0
132. Ellie Twedt – 24:08.6
140. Brooke McKee – 24:27.8
148. Audra Soderlind – 25:00.9