Deede, Welker Named USA Wrestling Wrestler of the Year Finalists

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa women’s wrestlers Marylnne Deede and Kylie Welker have been named finalist for the USA Wrestling Women’s College Wrestler of the Year award, the organization announced on Thursday afternoon.

2024 will be the second year that this award is presented, and it is the top award in women’s collegiate wrestling.

Deede, a senior finished the 2023-24 season as the NCWWC National Champion at 155 lbs. The Springville, Utah, native had a 14-0 record in her first season with the Hawkeyes including six pins and five technical falls. Deede finished her collegiate career with an 86-19 record and is a five-time all-American and a two time national champion.

Welker, a sophomore had a 23-1 record in the inaugural season for the Hawkeyes. She is the 2024 NCWWC National Champion at 170 lbs. The Franksville, Wisconsin, native had 16 tech. falls and six pins in the 2023-24 season.

Both Deede and Welker were a key part of the Hawkeyes’ National Dual and NCWWC National Championship team titles. Both will represent Iowa in the 2024 Olympic team trials at Penn State in April.

The award will be selected by a vote from three major constituent groups: wrestling journalists, women’s college head coaches and the fans. Each of these groups will account for one-third of the vote. Fan voting opens today and runs through 9 a.m. CT on Wednesday, April 3, at The winner of 2024 USA Wrestling’s Women’s College Wrestler of the Year will again be announced on FloWrestling on Thursday, April 4 at 11 a.m. CT.