Iowa Sits at No. 13 in AP List

Oct. 26, 2003

Purchase your Iowa-Minnesota football tickets online

This week’s ESPN/USA Today Top 25

This week’s Associated Press Top 25

The votes are in for this week’s College Football Top 25 on the Associated Press’ side of the ledger and Coach Kirk Ferentz’s 2003 Iowa Hawkeyes have moved up three spots to No. 13 on the list voted on by nationwide media.

Like the ESPN/USA Today Top 25, Iowa is one of six Big Ten teams included in the list. Ohio State (9th), Michigan State (10th), Michigan (11th), Purdue (18th) and Minnesota (24th) are also in the AP’s elite collection.

Oklahoma and Miami, Fla., held their positions as the first and second teams in AP’s Top 25 list.

Iowa will carry a 6-2 overall record and a 2-2 mark into historic Kinnick Stadium Saturday for its 11 a.m. date with the Fighting Illini of Illinois. The game will be televised live on ESPN Plus. The list of television stations that will carry that broadcast includes CBS 2 in Cedar Rapids and KDSM in Des Moines. A complete list will be available later this week.

The Hawkeyes and Fighting Illini will be playing before the fourth straight sellout crowd inside Kinnick Stadium. A limited number of tickets are available, however, for Iowa’s Fan Appreciation Day, Nov. 15, when Iowa and Minnesota will meet in the annual game that determines possession of Floyd of Rosedale, the bronzed pig awarded to the winner.

Floyd currently resides in Iowa City in recognition of Iowa’s victory last season over the Golden Gophers in the Metrodome, a win that completed the Hawkeyes’ perfect run through the 2001 league season.

Iowa’s game Saturday against Illinois inside sold out Kinnick Stadium will be televised live by ESPN Plus. A complete list of the stations carrying the game will be made available later this week by the Big Ten Conference. The game will also be available on ESPN GamePlan pay-per-view package.

Iowa’s victory over Penn State meant that the 2003 Hawkeyes were bowl eligible. This season marks the third straight bowl season for the Hawkeyes. Iowa played in the Alamo Bowl after the 2001 season and the FedEx Orange Bowl after the 2002 season.

The 2002 Big Ten champion will play in the 2003 Rose Bowl unless it is one of the teams invited to play in the 2003 Nokia Sugar Bowl – this year’s national championship game as part of the Bowl Championship Series.

The Big Ten also has bowl game agreements with the Capital One Bowl (Orland, Fla.), Outback Bowl (Tampa, Fla.), the Alamo Bowl (San Antonio, Texas), the Sun Bowl (El Paso, Texas), the Music City Bowl (Nashville, Tenn.) and the Motor City Bowl (Detroit, Mich.)