Did You Know...

Christmas Day 2003

2004 Outback Bowl Game Notes

Updated Iowa Outback Bowl Events List

Sure, fans of the Hawkeyes know the most of the inside scoop on the 2004 Outback Bowl and the 2003 Iowa Hawkeyes and their bowl game opponent, the Florida Gators. But here’s a little more for your review.

Iowa’s appearance in the 2004 Outback Bowl is the third bowl game for the Hawkeyes under Kirk Ferentz and the 19th bowl game in UI history. Iowa is 1-1 in bowl games during Ferentz’s tenure and 9-8-1 overall.

The 2004 Outback Bowl is the 15th that will feature a Big Ten Conference team. The Big Ten is 6-8 in the event.

A total of 24 Iowa Hawkeyes will be playing their final football game in an Iowa uniform on Jan. 1.

Iowa enters the 2004 Outback Bowl ranked 12th by ESPN/USA Today and 13th by Associated Press. The Hawkeyes ranked 13th in the last Bowl Championship Series standings for the 2003 season.

Kirk Ferentz will bring a 31-29 record as Iowa’s head coach into the 2004 Outback Bowl. That mark includes a 20-20 record in Big Ten Conference games and 1-1 mark in bowl games.

The 2004 Outback Bowl is the second game between Iowa and Florida. The two teams played in the 1983 Gator Bowl in Jacksonville. The Gators claimed a 14-6 victory in that event.

Eight Hawkeyes hail from the Sunshine State. That total includes three from the greater Tampa Bay area: Defensive back Antwan Allen from Tampa, defensive back Chris Brevi from Seffner and defensive back Marcus Paschal from Largo.

Wide receiver Ramon Ochoa broke the school record for punt return yards, notching 445 in 36 returns. The previous record of 440 on 24 returns was held by Tim Dwight, who currently plays for the San Diego Chargers of the NFL. Ochoa is also only three returns shy of the school record for punt returns in a season set by Peter Marciano during the 1987 season.

Iowa’s bowl game will mark the 42nd consecutive televised game for the Hawkeyes. ESPN will begin live television coverage at 10 a.m. Iowa time.

Iowa’s four punt blocks during the 2003 season is believed to be a new school record.