Hawkeyes Honored at Banquet

April 16, 2004

The University of Iowa women’s basketball team celebrated its 2003-04 season Friday night at its annual banquet. Over 250 people attended the banquet.

The Hawkeyes reflected on their season and announced their team awards. Seniors Jennie Lillis, Kristi Faulkner and Becca McCann earned the Coaches Award. Sophomore Crystal Smith was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while junior Jamie Cavey was honored as the Most Improved Player.

During her illustrious Hawkeye career, Lillis was named the team’s Defensive Player of the Year her sophomore and junior seasons, while earning the Coaches Award her junior and senior years.

Statistical leader plaques were given to Cavey, Lillis and Faulkner. Lillis was honored as Iowa’s leading rebounder (6.2) and assist leader (92). Cavey registered the team’s best field goal percentage (.562), which ranked 19th nationally. Faulkner was honored for recording the best free throw percentage (.868), which ranked 13th nationally.

Iowa’s three student-athletes selected to all-Big Ten teams were also recognized. Lillis was named to the second team by both the media and coaches, while Cavey and Faulkner were third team selections by both the media and coaches.

In addition, a team-record eight Hawkeyes were academic all-Big Ten honorees, which was the most of any conference school this season. Seniors McCann, Faulkner and Lillis, juniors Jenna Armstrong and Cavey and sophomores Morgan Kasperek, Lindsay Richards and Tiffany Reedy earned academic all-Big Ten recognition.

Iowa finished fourth in the Big Ten with a 10-6 record and a 16-13 overall mark and advanced to its 15th NCAA Tournament. The Hawkeyes won eight road games, which is the most since collecting nine during the 1993-94 season. Iowa shattered the school free throw percentage record (.769) and posted the second highest 3-point field goal percentage (.364) in team history. Additionally, Cavey (487), Faulkner (469) and Lillis (463) became the first trio to score 450 points or more in a single season at Iowa.