Football Leadership Group Named

April 20, 2004

Twelve University of Iowa football players have been named to the team’s 2004 Hawkeye Leadership Group. Head Coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group following a vote by members of each individual class.

Five seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and two freshmen (redshirt) make up the Hawkeye Leadership Group. A member of the 2004 incoming freshman class will be added in the fall.

The purpose of the Group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season.

“The players, once again, have done a fine job in their selections for the Leadership Group,” said Ferentz “The coaching staff looks forward to working with the group as we shape policies and decisions regarding the upcoming season.”

The 2004 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:
Jonathan Babineaux, DL, Senior, Port Arthur, TX
Sean Considine, DB, Senior, Byron, IL
Tony Jackson, TE, Senior, Ypsilanti, MI
Tyler Luebke, DL, Senior, Iowa City, IA
Pete McMahon, OL, Senior, Dubuque, IA

Chad Greenway, LB, Junior, Mt. Vernon, SD
Ed Hinkel, WR, Junior, Erie, PA
Abdul Hodge, LB, Junior , Fort Lauderdale, FL

Jason Manson, QB, Sophomore, Bloomfield, CT
Mike Elgin, OL, Sophomore, Bankston, IA

Bryan Mattison, DE, Freshman, Mishawaka, IN
Albert Young, RB, Freshman, Moorestown, NJ