Iowa Announces Big Ten Medal of Honor Winners

May 18, 2004

University of Iowa kicker Nate Kaeding and basketball player Jennie Lillis have been awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

The Big Ten Medal of Honor is awarded annually at each Big Ten institution to a senior male and female student-athlete that has demonstrated a high degree of proficiency in scholarship and athletics.

Kaeding, from Iowa City, became the first Hawkeye to ever win the Lou Groza Award, which is given to the nation’s top place kicker, in 2002. He was one of three finalists for the 2003 Lou Groza Award. In addition, Kaeding is a two-time all-American. He also garnered first team all-Big Ten accolades and Verizon academic all-District first team honors the last two years. Kaeding is the Iowa record holder in 14 statistical categories, including career points. He shares the Big Ten career kick scoring mark with Minnesota’s Dan Nystrom (1999-02). A two-time captain, he finished his career as the NCAA record holder for career field goal percentage of 40 yards or more (min. 20 FG made). Kaeding ranks 10th in NCAA Division I-A history in career kick scoring and 19th in career field goals made. He was named Iowa’s Special Team Specialist of the Year his last three seasons.

Lillis, from Urbandale, IA, became the first player to rank in the top ten in the five major statistical categories at Iowa. She finished her career ranking fifth in scoring and rebounding, third in blocks, sixth in steals and eighth in assists. Lillis is a three-time all-Big Ten honoree and is one of only three Hawkeye players to ever amass 300 points or more in a season all four years. Lillis established the school record for free throws made and attempted. A three-time captain, she started every game but one during her illustrious Hawkeye career and was an instrumental leader in helping Iowa capture the 2001 Big Ten Tournament, earn three NCAA Tournament berths and one WNIT. Lillis also excelled in the classroom, where she was a three-time academic all-Big Ten selection and was one of two recipients of the WBCA Scholarship Award.