Hawkeyes Advance Five to NCAA Championships

May 30, 2004

COLLEGE STATION, TX – The University of Iowa men’s and women’s track and field teams automatically advanced five competitors to the NCAA Championships, to be held June 9-12 in Austin, TX. The five Hawkeyes each placed in the top five in their individual events to automatically qualify for the national meet at the NCAA Midwest Regional Friday and Saturday in College Station, TX. The Iowa women’s team finished tied for 12th place with 20 points, while the men’s team finished 15th with 15 points. Nebraska won the men’s team title with 86.25, while Texas won the women’s team title with 110.

Hawkeye seniors Sarah Arens and Shellene Williams and freshman Peaches Roach qualified on Saturday, while seniors Brad Daufeldt and Ken Kemeny qualified on Friday. Arens placed second in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 10:39.31. Williams set a school record in the 400 meters, placing fourth in 52.41. Daufeldt placed fourth in the hammer throw (205-4), Kemeny placed fourth in the shot put (61-4 1/4) and Roach placed fifth in the high jump (5-10 1/2).

Other Hawkeye competitors could still qualify for the national meet as wildcards to fill in the event fields. Those will be determined by the NCAA later this week.

FINAL TEAM RESULTS (Top five plus Iowa)
Men’s Team Scores
1. Nebraska 86.25
2. Minnesota 68.25
3. S. Methodist 57.75
4. Texas 56.25
5. Texas Tech 53.25
15. Iowa 15

Women’s Team Scores
1. Texas 110
2. Nebraska 105
3. Kansas St. 35.50
4. Oklahoma 34
Texas A&M 34
12. Iowa 20

SATURDAY’S EVENT RESULTS (Winner plus Iowa placers)
Women’s High Jump
1. Nevena Lendel (S. Methodist) 5-11 1/2
5. Peaches Roach (Iowa) 5-10 1/2

Women’s 400 Meters
1. Sanya Richards (Texas) 50.66
4. Shellene Williams (Iowa) 52.41

Men’s 400-Meter Hurdles
1. Mikael Jakobssen (Minnesota) 49.72
6. Russell Peterson (Iowa) 51.18

Women’s 800 Meters
1. Melanie Hardy (Tulsa) 2:07.01
6. Michelle Lahann (Iowa) 2:09.34

Women’s 3,000-Meter Steeplechase
1. Ann Graffigan (Nebraska) 10:30.66
2. Sarah Arens (Iowa) 10:39.31

Men’s 1,600-Meter Relay
1. Baylor 3:04.22
10. Iowa 3:12.82
(O’Hollearn, Digney, Coleman, Peterson)

Men’s Discus
1. Hannes Hopley (S. Methodist) 222-0
10. Brad Daufeldt (Iowa) 185-0
19. Tim Brodersen (Iowa) 173-11
20. Eric Rothwell (Iowa) 173-5