Endowed Scholarships

The Hawkeye Visions Endowment Program: Investing in a Winning Future, is a 10-year campaign with a $25 million goal, which seeks to create permanently endowed scholarships for all starting positions in UI athletics. The program currently includes approximately 75 fully endowed scholarships, 40 partially endowed scholarships, 25 scholarships which are in the development stages and 30 future scholarship gifts.

The following scholarships are fully endowed awards which are currently dedicated to the UI women’s basketball program. These endowments of at least $125,000 provide earnings to annually fund a full ride women’s basketball scholarship (tuition, room, board, books and fees). Other sport scholarships, partial scholarships, awards being developed and/or planned are not included in this list.

Micheal and Patricia Beal Women’s Basketball Scholarship
The Beal Scholarship was established in 2002 by Micheal and Patricia Beal, from Muscatine, Iowa. Micheal works at Monsanto Company’s Muscatine plant. Patricia works for Scott’s Outdoors in Muscatine. The Beals are longtime football and women’s basketball season ticket holders.

P. Sue Beckwith, M.D. Women’s Basketball Scholarship
The P. Sue Beckwith, M.D. Women’s Basketball Scholarship was established in 2005 to honor Sue’s father, F.W. Beckwith of Boone, Iowa, and in memory of her mother Esther Beckwith. Sue graduated from the University of Iowa’s College of Medicine in 1984 and was a women’s basketball letterwinner during her undergraduate years. Sue is a surgeon in the Des Moines area. This scholarship is in appreciation of the sacrifice, devotion and unconditional support parents of student athletes share with their children throughout their lives.

John and Mary Ann Colloton Women’s Basketball Scholarship
The Colloton Women’s Basketball Scholarship, along with similar scholarships in men’s basketball, football, and wrestling was established in 1998 by a generous gift from longtime Hawkeye fans John and Mary Ann Colloton of Iowa City. John, with degrees from Loras College and the UI, was director of the UI Hospitals and Clinics from 1971-93. He is the UI’s Vice-President emeritus for Statewide Health Services, received a UI Distinguished Alumni Award in 1999 and is a Varsity Club Honorary Letterwinner. Mary Ann, a 1957 UI graduate, served as a staff nurse at the UICH from 1957-63 and is an active community volunteer.

Donald W. and Marilyn Heineking Women’s Basketball Scholarship
The Heineking Women’s Basketball Scholarship was established in 2002 along with a similar scholarship for football. Then, in 2003, they added a wrestling scholarship and a men’s basketball manager’s scholarship. And in 2004, Don funded a baseball and softball scholarship. Don is a 1958 UI business graduate and president of Security State Bank in Hubbard, Iowa. He is also a long-time supporter of Iowa athletics, member of Johnson County I-Club Board of Directors and a member of the Iowa Scholarship Fund Board of Directors. Don lives in Iowa City and is a member of the Presidents Club of the UI Foundation. Marilyn passed away in February of 2004.

Bud and Georgia Johnson Women’s Basketball Scholarship
Bud and Georgia Johnson of Monticello, Iowa established their scholarship in 2004. They are avid fans of Iowa women’s basketball and are instrumental in getting a group of 40-plus fans from their surrounding area to home games. Bud and Georgia are owners of Minn-Tex Citrus, Inc. in Monticello and are very active supporters of University of Iowa athletics. Both are members of the Presidents Club of the UI Foundation.

Jack and Ailene Liechty Women’s Basketball Scholarship
The Liechty Women’s Basketball Scholarship, along with similar scholarships in men’s basketball, men’s golf, and football, was established by Ailene in honor of her husband, Jack, who passed away in 1994. Jack was in the newspaper business for 51 years with the Des Moines Register, the Iowa City Press-Citizen, the Speidel Company and Gannett. Ailene lives in Iowa City and supports a variety of civic and UI causes. She received a Distinguished Alumni Award in from the UI in 1999.

William and Kay Pitlik Women’s Basketball Scholarship
University of Iowa alumni Bill and Kay Pitlik of Cedar Rapids, Iowa first created an endowed scholarship fund in 1998 to show their love for the Hawkeyes. Since that time, they’ve established four more athletic scholarships bringing the Pitlik Scholarships to an amazing total of five. They are former owners of the Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company in Cedar Rapids. The Pitliks are avid Hawkeye fans and also have endowed scholarships for softball, wrestling and two for football.

Print Friendly Version