Hall of Fame

June 15, 2004


Nineteen men who have been associated with Iowa football are members of Halls of Fame, named by the National Football Foundation, the Helms Athletic Foundation or the College Football Hall of Fame.

Seven men have been named to the Halls of both foundations: Howard Jones, coach; Nile Kinnick, player; Gordon Locke, player; Fred (Duke) Slater, player; Dr. Edward Anderson, coach; Edward (Slip) Madigan, coach; Calvin Jones, player.

Five men have been named to the Hall of the Helms Foundation: Calvin Jones, player; Ossie Solem, coach; Emlen Tunnell, professional player; Eric Wilson, publicist.

Aubrey Devine, Randy Duncan, Alex Karras and Chuck Long have been named to the National Football Foundation Hall as players, while Earl Banks was inducted on the merits of his long-time coaching tenure at Morgan State. Former Iowa Coach Forest Evashevski was honored into the Hall of Fame in December of 2000 in New York City and Hayden Fry is the latest Iowa coach to be inducted.

Evashevski coached Iowa from 1952-60, compiling a 42-27-4 record. The Hawkeyes finished in the top five nationally in 1956, 1957, 1958 and 1960 under Evashevski, who later served as Iowa’s Athletic Director.

Fry was inducted as a member of the 2003 Hall of Fame class at the 46th annual awards dinner on Dec. 9, 2003 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. The newest class was officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, IN, in August, 2004. Fry is Iowa’s winningest head coach with 143 wins. He led the Hawkeyes to three Big Ten titles and Rose Bowl appearances and coached the Hawkeyes in 14 bowl games.


Dr. Eddie Anderson




Randy Duncan

spacer.gif p-forestevashevski.jpg

Forest Evashevski

spacer.gif p-howardjones.jpg

Howard Jones

spacer.gif p-chucklong.jpg

Chuck Long

spacer.gif p-dukeslater.jpg

Duke Slater

spacer.gif p-ossiesolem.jpg

Ossie Solem

spacer.gif p-ericwilson.jpg

Eric Wilson

spacer.gif p-hayenfry.jpg

Hayden Fry


Hayden Fry is Iowa’s latest addition to the College Football Hall of Fame. Fry coached the Hawkeyes to 143 wins during his tenure, taking Iowa to three Rose Bowl appearances and 14 bowl games overall.

Print Friendly Version