Hawkeyes Finish 13th At NCAA

Nov. 22, 2004


Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Terre Haute, IN – The University of Iowa men’s cross country team competed at the NCAA Championship today hosted by Indiana State University. Iowa finished in 13th place (30 teams) with 371 team points. The Hawkeye’s 13th place finish is the highest Coach Wieczorek has coached his squad to in his duration as head coach. Iowa was the second Big Ten team to cross the finish line beating Minnesota (18th), Indiana (19th), Ohio State (22nd), Michigan (26th), and Michigan State (28th). Wisconsin took second place with 94 team points. This is the third time in seven years that Iowa has competed at the championship. Iowa recorded a 21st place finish in 1998 and 29th place in 2002.

Sophomore Micah VanDenend led the Hawkeyes in the men’s 10,000-meter placing 52nd (242 runners) in 32:21. Freshman Eric MacTaggart finished 59th in 32:27. Senior teammate Matt Esche finished just three places behind MacTaggart in 32:28 for 62nd place. Sophomore Adam Roche placed 69th in 32:32. Senior Tony Rakaric ran 33:17 for 129th place. Sophomore Jeff Kent and junior Dan Haut finished 144th and 152nd respectably in 33:27 and 33:30.

The University of Colorado was crowned the NCAA champions with 90 team points. The Buffaloes were led by two top five competitors, fourth place finisher Brent Vaughn (30:49) and fifth place finisher Bret Schoolmeester (30:57). Wisconsin’s Simon Bairu won the individual title in a time of 30:38, leading Wisconsin to its second place finish. Arkansas placed third with 202 team points.