Hawkeyes Head To Big Ten Championships

Feb. 14, 2005

THIS WEEK — The Hawkeye women’s swimming and diving team will compete at the Big Ten Championships Wednesday-Saturday in Bloomington, IN. All events will be held at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center on the Indiana University campus. All-session tickets are $25. Single-session prelim tickets are $5 for adults and $3 for students. Single-session finals tickets are $7 for adults and $3 for students. Tickets can be purchased from the Indiana University Athletic Ticket Office at 866/487-7678.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS — Event prelims begin at 11 a.m. each day, with diving starting at 1 p.m. Both swimming and diving finals begin at 7 p.m. All swimming events will be in yards and all diving events will be in meters. Following is the schedule of events:

Wednesday, February 16
200 Medley Relay (7 p.m.)
800 Free Relay (7:30 p.m.)

Thursday, February 17
200 Free Relay*
500 Free
200 IM
50 Free
1-Meter Diving

Friday, February 18
400 Medley Relay*
400 IM
100 Fly
200 Free
100 Breast
100 Back
3-Meter Diving

Saturday, February 19
1,650 Free (Timed Final)
200 Back
100 Free
200 Breast
200 Fly
Platform Diving
400 Free Relay*
*–Finals only

2005 BIG TEN REVIEW —The Hawkeyes placed ninth at the Big Ten Championships, scoring 152 points. Michigan won the team title with 604.5. Jennifer Skolaski placed second in the 200 back (1:57.51), earning second team all-Big Ten honors, and fourth in the 100 back (55.24). Iowa’s 200 medley and 800 free relays placed fifth.

BIG TEN RANKINGS — Iowa ranks in the top 10 in the Big Ten Conference rankings in three individual events and five relays. Junior Kelly Werner is ranked sixth in the 100 back and eighth in the 200 back. Senior Jennifer Skolaski is ranked seventh in the 200 back. Iowa’s 200 medley relay is ranked fifth, the 400 medley relay is ranked sixth, the 400 free relay is ranked seventh and the 200 free and 800 free relays are ranked eighth.

BIG TEN HISTORY — In the 23-year history of the Big Ten Women’s Swimming Championships, Iowa has crowned 13 event champions, including nine swimmers, three divers and one relay. The Hawkeyes have yet to win a team title. Michigan has won 14 team titles, Ohio State has won five, Minnesota has won two, and Penn State and Indiana have each won one.

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader