The Field Is Set

Feb. 28, 2005

The field has been set for the 2005 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament, which will take place at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana, March 3-7. Fresh off its 69-58 victory over Penn State Sunday, Big Ten co-champion Ohio State (27-3, 14-2 Big Ten) earned the top seed for the first time in school history. The Buckeyes earned their previous best as the No. 3 seed in last year’s Tournament.

Despite tying Michigan State (25-3, 14-2) for first in the league’s regular season standings, Ohio State earned the No. 1 seed with a 1-1 record over third-place Penn State (18-9, 13-3), while the Spartans fell to the Lady Lions in their lone contest of the season. The second tiebreak was needed after Ohio State and Michigan State split in their head-to-head meetings this season.

Michigan State matched its highest seed in school history, as the Spartans were awarded the No. 2 seed once before in 1997. Penn State , which finished just one game back in its quest for a third straight regular season title, earns the third seed, while Minnesota (22-6, 12-4) was granted the fourth seed. Purdue (16-11, 9-7), the two-time defending Tournament champion and winners of five of the 11 postseason events, was awarded the No. 5 seed.

The highly-anticipated No. 4-5 matchup will be the first-ever meeting between the Golden Gophers and the Boilermakers in the Tournament. Minnesota, which will battle Purdue on Friday, March 4, at 2:30 p.m. ET, holds a 2-0 advantage over the Boilermakers this season. The top five seeds of the Tournament receive opening-day byes.

Click HERE for the full story from the Big Ten Conference.