Hawkeyes Honored at Banquet

April 9, 2005

The University of Iowa women’s basketball team celebrated its 2004-05 season Friday night at its annual banquet. Over 250 people attended the banquet.

The Hawkeyes reflected on their season and announced their team awards. Senior Jamie Cavey earned the Coaches Award. Junior Crystal Smith was honored as the Most Improved Player and Defensive Player of the Year. Smith has been named the Defensive Player of the Year the last two seasons.

Statistical leader plaques were given to Cavey, Smith, Johanna Solverson, Stacy Schlapkohl and Krista VandeVenter. VandeVenter was honored as Iowa’s leading rebounder (7.6). Cavey registered the team’s best field goal percentage (.551), which ranked 21st nationally. Smith and Schlapkohl were honored for recording the best free throw percentage (.769), while Solverson posted the most assists (136). Plaques were also given to graduating seniors Whitney Snyder and Erin Sundae.

Iowa’s three student-athletes selected to all-Big Ten teams were also recognized. Cavey was named to the second team by the media and third team by the coaches, while Smith was a third team pick by the coaches and an honorable mention selection by the media. VandeVenter was named to all-Freshman Team.

In addition, three Hawkeyes were academic all-Big Ten honorees. Cavey, Morgan Kasperek and Tiffany Reedy earned academic all-Big Ten recognition. This marked the third time Cavey earned academic all-Big Ten laurels, while it’s the second time for Kasperek and Reedy.

Iowa finished sixth in the Big Ten with an 8-8 record and a 23-10 overall mark and advanced to the Final Four of the WNIT. The Hawkeyes won their first 13 games of the season and were the last Division I undefeated team. Iowa ranked sixth nationally in least fouls per game (13.5), 10th in field goal percentage (.469), 33rd in assists per game (16.1) and 43rd in scoring offense (69.8).