Iowa Tracksters Get More Gold

April 17, 2005

Complete Results

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Part of the Iowa women’s track and field competed in the Jim Duncan Invitational on Saturday. Three Hawkeye athletes won gold in the meet that featured competitors from around the Midwest including Minnesota State, Northern Iowa, Bemidji State and St. Cloud State.

Senior Michelle Sokol won the 800 meters in 2:17.20, which was also a new career mark. Freshman Jordan Laney was tops in the 1,500 meter run and sophomore Becca Franklin threw to a first place finish in the hammer throw; both Hawks set new collegiate bests with their wins. In all, eight Iowa athletes set new career marks in the meet.

The Iowa women and men’s teams host the Musco Twilight meet next Saturday, April 23, at the Francis X. Cretzmeyer track.