Iwebema Named to Lott Watch List

March 27, 2006

NEWPORT BEACH, CA — Iowa’s Kenny Iwebema is one of 42 top defensive players in the nation who have been named to the 2006 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced today.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its third year, The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Iwebema led the Hawkeyes in sacks last season with seven and was named to the All-Big Ten team.

David Pollack of Georgia and DeMeco Ryans of Alabama were the winners of the first two Lott Trophies. Both Georgia and Alabama received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club Dec. 10.