Iowa Football Leadership Group Named

April 14, 2006

IOWA CITY – Fourteen University of Iowa football players have been named to the team’s 2006 Hawkeye Leadership Group. Head Coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group following a vote by members of each individual class.

Six seniors, three juniors, four sophomores and one freshman (redshirt) make up the Hawkeye Leadership Group. A member of the 2006 incoming freshman class will be added in the fall.

The purpose of the Group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season.

“The players, once again, have done a fine job in their selections for the Leadership Group,” said Ferentz. “The coaching staff looks forward to working with the group as we shape policies and decisions regarding the upcoming season.”

The 2006 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Jake Christensen QB Freshman Lockport, IL
Mike Elgin C Senior Bankston, IA
Mike Humpal LB Junior New Hampton, IA
Mitch King DL Sophomore Burlington, IA
Matt Kroul DL Sophomore Mt. Vernon, IA
Jason Manson QB Senior Bloomfield, CT
Bryan Mattison DE Junior Mishawaka, IN
Miguel Merrick DB Senior Union City, NJ
Tony Moeaki TE Sophomore Wheaton, IL
Seth Olsen OL Sophomore Omaha, NE
Marcus Paschal DB Senior Largo, FL
Drew Tate QB Senior Baytown, TX
Marshal Yanda OL Senior Anamosa, IA
Albert Young RB Junior Moorestown, NJ