Hawkeyes Make Sporting News Team

May 12, 2006

IOWA CITY – A number of Iowa football players have been named to pre-season honor squads by The Sporting News. Five Hawkeyes have been named to the 2006 TSN first all-Big Ten team.

Offensive guard Mike Jones, running back Albert Young, defensive end Kenny Iwebema, safety Marcus Paschal and place-kicker Kyle Schlicher are all on the first pre-season team. Quarterback Drew Tate, offensive tackle Marshal Yanda and linebacker Edmond Miles made the second unit.

The publication went on to name a number of Iowa players and national ranking at their respective positions. Tate and Paschal were named the fourth best in the nation at quarterback and safety, respectively, while Jones and Schlicher were named fifth best at their spots. Young was picked as the seventh best running back in the nation and Iwebema was named the eighth best end. Fullback Tom Busch and Miles were picked 12th best at their positions and tight end Scott Chandler was named the 14th best in the nation.

The Hawkeyes open their 2006 season Sept. 2nd, at home, against Montana.